The annual rice yield (in pounds), is given by the equation y-hat = 859 + 5.76a + 3.82b, where 'a' is the number of acres planted (in thousands), and 'b' is the number of acres harvested (in thousands). Predict the annual rice yield (in pounds) when the number of acres planted is 3275 (in thousands) and the number of acres harv
1. Describe what category (Join, Separate, Part-Part Whole) the problem fits in and which sub-type (Result unknown, Change unknown, Start unknown, Part unknown, Whole unknown) it is. 2. Describe the strategy the student uses for each question. 3. Describe how Problem 6 differs from Problem 7, other than in the contexts a
Please help with the following problem. During the year ended December 31,2009, Gluco, Inc., split its stock on a 3-for-1 basis. In its annual report for 2008, the firm reported net income of $3,703,920 for 2008, with an average 268,400 shares of common stock outstanding for that year. There was no preferred stock. Required
I really need help with these questions. 1. As a part of their customer-service program, United Airlines wanted to select 10 passengers from today's 9 A.M. Chicago-Tampa flight to be interviewed regarding airport facilities, service, and amenities in the waiting area. Each passenger was given a number on check in, starting
U4A1 Problem 1 All other problems are in sheet 2 and 3 Lam on the Run Corporation uses Activity Based Costing data for internal decisions. The company has the following four activity costs pools. Activity cost pool annual Activity
U4A1 Problem 2 You have given this information for ABC Corporation. What is the Activity Rate for the three Activity costs Pools? Activity Cost Pools total Costs Total Activity Activity Rate Producing Units
ZXC Firm has the following information to determine Predetermine overhead rate for Standard Costing: Estimated total manufacturing overhead costs $1,000,000 Estimated total amount of the allocation base at the level of projected activity
1. A new weight-watching company, Weight Reducers International, advertises that those who join will lose, on the average, 10 pounds the first two weeks with a standard deviation of 2.8 pounds A random sample of 50 people who joined the new weight reduction program revealed the mean loss to be 9 pounds. At the .05 level of signi
1. Would you please show us the calculation of following problem for breakeven point below? Suppose that a company has fixed costs of $150,000 and variable costs of $7.5 per unit. What is the break-even point if the selling price is $12.5 per unit? 2. Would you please state what is the distinction between studying math's and
Island Publishing Company publishes two types of magazines on a monthly basis: a restaurant and entertainment guide and a real estate guide. The company distributes the magazines free to businesses, hotels, and stores on Hilton Head Island in South Carolina. The company's profits come exclusively from the paid advertising in t
Please help with the following problem regarding inventory management. The Acme Grocery store started a Coupons Instantly program. It requires a debit card with a minimum of $300, so the customer can buy as many coupons as they want. As a promotional gimmick they are offering pens. The pens are given away to new coupon holde
Suppose that in 2012 Johnson Industries earned a profit of $1400. You know that in 2012 profits grew by 40% from their 2011 level. Also in 2011, profits grew by 25% from their 2010 level. Calculate the sum of the 2010 and 2011 profits.
Suppose that a_n is the amount owed on a mortgage after n years, £m is the monthly repayment and r is the annual percentage interest rate charged on the amount of the mortgage outstanding. (i) Derive a difference equation satisfied by a_n. (ii) Solve the difference equation derived in (i) for a loan of £A to be repaid over N
New York Times Cases in the News Read the "New York Times" case and answer questions. Textbook: Understanding and Managing Organizational Behavior, 5/E 'The Math Whiz vs. the Media Moguls in a Battle for Millions' by Richard Siklos, April 3, 2006, p. C1, C5. Amid the flash of the Internet bubble, Henry C. Yuen, the ch
Fill in missing values (A-L) for four not-for-profit clinics. Pittman Rose Beckman Jaffe Dec 31, 2006 Assets $80,000 100,000 g 150,000 Liabilities 50,000 d 75,000 j Equity a 60,000 45,000 90,000 December 31, 2007 Assets b 130,000 180,000 k Liabilities 55,000 62,000 h 80,000 Equity 45,000
Venture capital is increasingly becoming an important source of finance for small and start-up firms. Why do you think this is so? Would you recommend to your firm to engage in venture financing? Why or why not?
From a business perspective, which measurement is more important the Mode, the Mean, or the Median? Provide examples (business related) that demonstrate the appropriateness of one of these measures and the inappropriateness of the other two in a particular situation. Can you think of situations where another one of the measu
Suppose we look at real estate sales for an older neighborhood with similar houses. Suppose the prices range from $200k to $300k. In this case, the mean and median measures will be similar. Now suppose that a house burns down and catches the house next door on fire. Before long, someone builds a large house across the two empty
From a business perspective, which measurement is more important the Mode, the Mean, or the Median? Provide examples (business related) that demonstrate the appropriateness of one of these measures and the inappropriateness of the other two in a particular situation. Can you think of situations where another one of the measure
Default risk: You buy a very risky bond that promises a 9.5% coupon and return of the $1,000 principal in 10 years. You pay only $500 for the bond. A) You receive the coupon payments for three years and the bond defaults. After liquidating the firm, the bondholders receive a distribution of $150 per bond at the end of 3.
The XYZ corporation has $100 million of long term debt paying ten percent interest and is in the 40 percent tax bracket. The firm also has $50 million of preferred stock paying a 12 percent dividend and $100 million of common growing at a constant rate of 15 percent per year. If the expected dividend is $2.00 and the stock is se
A project has been defined to contain the following activities, along with their time estimates for completion. Carry three decimals in your calculations and answer the following questions: Activity Time Estimates (weeks) Immediate Predecessors a m b A 2 5 6 - B 1 5 11 - C 4 6 10 A D 2 2 2 B E 1 2 9 A F 2 4 5 C,
Pick a country of your choice that is experiencing population growth. Using the Library, web resources, and/or other materials to find the most recent population count of the country you have chosen and the population growth rate of that country. Use that growth rate to approximate the population in the year 2015. Solve the prob
7. Sara Shouppe has invested $100,000 in an account at her local bank. The bank will pay her a constant amount each year for 6 years, starting one year from today, and the account's balance will be 0 at the end of the sixth year. If the bank has promised Ms. Shouppe a 10% return, how much will they have to pay him each year?
1)What is the objective of segregation of duties and what are two key aspects of it? Segregation of Duties (SOD) is used to heighten security within internal controls. SOD's main objective is to reduce malicious activity that may occur as a result of human error or in the event that someone tries to cover up a technological mishap that may occur as a result of hacking, etc. The focal point of SOD is to ensure that one person is not the only one who has access to internal controls. According to Gregory Spafford (2006) "an individual should not be able to perform a transaction and delete all the logs" (Spafford, 2006) or information pertaining to that transaction in an effort to erase his/her steps so the transaction cannot be traced. SOD places limitations on what organizations can do and is most frequently used in audits and/or security reviews. Reference Spafford, G. (2006) Segregate Duties to Lessen Security Risks. Retrieved February 22, 2011 from http://itmanagement.earthweb.com/columns/article.php/3578216/Segregate-Duties-to-Lessen-Security-Risks.htm 2)What is control risk? Describe the steps involved in the process of assessing control risk. Control Risk is the probability that an organizations' internal control effectiveness could depreciate over a length of time. In essence, control risk is a mitigation technique that most organizations should employ in order to identify and rectify potential risk and work towards an alleviation or preventative strategy.
1)What is the objective of segregation of duties and what are two key aspects of it? Segregation of Duties (SOD) is used to heighten security within internal controls. SOD's main objective is to reduce malicious activity that may occur as a result of human error or in the event that someone tries to cover up a technological mi
1. Paid dividend of $2 per share. Expected to grow at a constant rate of 5% per year, and investors require a 15% rate of return on the stock. What is the stock's value? 2. Suppose the riskiness of the stock decreases, which causes the required rate of return to fall to 13%. Under these conditions, what is the stock's v
You are a broker and have been instructed to place an order for a client to purchase 500 shares of every IPO that comes to market. the next IPOs are each priced at $25 a share and will begin trading on the same day. the client is allocated 500 shares of IPO A and 100 shares of IPO B. at the end of the first day of trading, IPO
Wear ever is expanding and needs $12.6 million to help fund this growth. the firm estimates it can sell new shares of stock for $32.50 a share. it also estimates it will cost an additional $340,000 for filing and legal fees related to the stock issue. the underwriters have agreed to a 7.5 percent spread. how many shares of stock
Scenario: A small publishing company is planning to publish a new book. The production costs will include onetime fixed costs (such as editing) and variable costs [such as printing). The onetime liked costs will total $68,475. The variable costs will be $11.25 per book. The publisher will sell the finished product to bookstores
** Please see the attached file for the complete problem description ** Mathematical symbols only appear in the attached file. ---------------------------------------- Need answers to a. and b Let A and B be two events such that (please see the attached file) and (please see the attached file). (a) Determine (please se