Given the computations for both gross profit on sales and contribution margin, what benefits come from gross profit on sales instead of contribution margin? Is net income always the same no matter what the accounting approach is? Let me give you a simple example. Look at the income statements below before you answer the ques
Widget corp. supplies widget kits retailers. Faces decision regarding purchase of kits from the manufacturer. monthly demand = 3600 units ordering costs = $25 holding cost per unit per month = $0.45 purchase price per unit = $0.85 per unit discount price = $0.82 per unit quantity needed to qualify for discount = 6000 uni
Twisto Pretzel Company disposes of under or over applied overhead at year-end as an adjustment to cost of goods sold. Prior to disposal, the firm reported cost of goods sold of $600,000 in a year when manufacturing overhead was overapplied by $18,000. If sales revenue totaled $1,400,000, determine gross margin.
1. Unitized Costs Suppose you are a manager in a manufacturing company. Your accountant has just presented you with a very detailed cost analysis for a decision whether to outsource or make a component of a product. You have to use this analysis in a meeting with other managers. Since the analysis is shown in totals and your
Zeke made the following donations to qualified charitable organizations during 2007: Basis Fair Market Value Used clothing (all acquired before 2006) of taxpayer and his family $ 2,350 $ 675 Stock in ABC, Inc., held as an investment for fif
Please see the attached file. 1. Make or Buy Suppose a BMW executive in Germany is trying to decide whether the company should continue to manufacture an engine component or purchase it from Frankfurt Corporation for 50 euros each. Demand for the coming year is expected to be the same as for the current year, 200,000 units.
See the attached file The International Company makes and sells only one product, Product SW. The company is in the process of preparing its Selling and Administrative Expense Budget for the last half of the year. If the company has budgeted to sell 24,000 units of Product SW in September, then the total budgeted fixed se
Carver Lumber sells lumber and general building supplies to building contractors in a medium-sized town in Montana. Data regarding the store's operations follow: - Sales are budgeted at $450,000 for November, $380,000 for December, and $280,000 for January. - Collections are expected to be 87% in the month of sale, 8% in the
Question 12: Bries Corporation is preparing its cash budget for January. The budgeted beginning cash balance is $21,000. Budgeted cash receipts total $183,000 and budgeted cash disbursements total $182,000. The desired ending cash balance is $40,000. To attain its desired ending cash balance for January, the company shou
Question 10: Harden, Inc., has budgeted sales in units for the next five months as follows: June 7,000 units July 5,200 units August 6,300 units September 6,700 units October 4,700 units Past experience has shown that the ending inventory for each month should be equal to 14% of the next mont
Hello, I am completely lost on this problem; I am having trouble wrapping my head around it. Thank you. As the manager of the accounts receivable department for Vicki Maher Leather Goods, Ltd., you recently noticed that Percy Shelley, your accounts receivable clerk who is paid $1,200 per month, has been wearing unusually tast
What are the steps in the systems development life cycle? Which step is most important? Why? What are the ramifications of skipping one of the steps?
I need help grasping these topics. Can you assist? In Lawrence County, the real property tax year is the calendar year. The real property tax becomes a personal liability of the owner of real property on January 1 in the current real property tax year, 2007 (which is not a leap year). The tax is payable on June 1, 2007. On Ma
Scenario: Redmon Company uses a sales journal, a purchases journal, a cash receipts journal, a cash disbursements journal, and a general journal. The following transactions occur in the month of June. June 1: Purchased $8,100 of merchandise on credit from Vick, Inc., terms n/30. 8: Sold merchandise costing $900 on credi
A.) Nell, single and age 38, had the following income and expense items in 2008: Nonbusiness bad debt $6,000 Business bad debt $2,000 Nonbusiness long-term capital gain $4,000 Nonbusiness short-term capital loss $3,000 Salary $40,
Articulation: Relationships between a Balance Sheet and an Income Statement The total assets and liabilities of Roloflex Company at January 1 and December 31, 2006, are presented below. January 1 December 31 Assets . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $76,000 $112,000 Liabiliti
The accounting records of the Microfine Company revealed the following costs: Factory utilities $42,000. Wages of assembly-line workers 194,000. Customer entertainment 52,000.
I need the solutions for these 2 problems to help in my examination preparation. thanks Sample problem 4. Lennox Industries manufactures two products: A and B. A review of the company's accounting records revealed the following per-unit costs and production volumes: A B Production volume (units) 2,500 5,000 Direc
I need help with these 2 problems. Thanks. Moore Company needs to determine the variable utilities rate per direct machine hour in order to estimate cost for August. Relevant information is as follows. Month Machine Hours Worked Utilities Cost April 4,800 $4,144 May 5,200 4,300 June 5,600 4,482 July 6,000 4,
Livingston Corporation manufactures an electronic switch for dishwashers. The cost base per unit, excluding selling and administrative expenses, is $60. The per unit cost of selling and administrative expenses is $20. The company's desired ROI per unit is $6. Calculate its markup percentage on total unit cost.
20 questions Tables for questions 5 - 11 - 12 - 15 - 19 in attachment Question 1 Absorption costing is useful because it reflects the full costs that sales must exceed for the company to be profitable. Question 1 answers True False Question 2 When evaluating a special order, management should
1. Changing Fixed Costs to Variable Costs at Blockbuster Video According to an article in Business Week, when John F. Antioco took charge of Blockbuster Video, he changed the company's strategy. Traditionally, Blockbuster had bought videotapes from the move studios for an average cost of about $65 each, planning to rent them ou
1. Cost-Volume-Profits and Vending Machines Riccardo Food Services Company operates and services soft drink vending machines located in restaurants, gas stations, and factories in four southeastern states. The machines are rented from the manufacture. In addition, Riccardo must rent the space occupied by its machines. The follo
Dinesh Patel is the sales manager of Davidson Enterprises, a very profitable distributor of office furniture to local businesses. A recent economic downturn has created an extremely tight cash position, and the company has been hurt by the bankruptcy of two key customers. In late October, anticipating an economic recovery,
Tiger Corp purchases 1,200,000 units per year of one component. The fixed cost per order is $25. The annual carrying cost of the item is 27% of its $2 cost. a) Determine the EOQ under each of the following conditions: (1) no changes, (2) order cost of zero, and (3) carrying cost of zero. b) What do your answers illustrate
The Skill Craft Appliance Company has two products: a plain mixer and a fancy mixer. The plain mixer sells for 464 and has a variable cost of $48. The fancy mixer sells for $100 and has a variable cost of $70. 1. compute contribution margins and contribution-margin ratios for plain and fancy mixers. 2. The demand is for more
The Monroe Company has budgeted sales for the year as follows: Quarter 1 Quarter 2 Quarter 3 Quarter 4 sales in unit 10,000 12,000 14,000 16,000 The ending inventory of finished goods for each quarter should equal 25% of the next quarter's budgeted sales in un
Phillip developed hip problems and was unable to climb the stairs to reach his second-floor bedroom. His physician advised him to add a first-floor bedroom to his home. The cost of constructing the room was $32,000. The increase in the value of the residence as a result of the room addition was determined to be $17,000. In addi
See attach files A company had the following information: The ending balance in the Retained Earnings account is: $61,000 $63,000 $65,000 $74,000 Table 16-1 Referring to Tables 16-1 and 16-2, the cash paid for patents by Silver Company in 20X6 was: $0 $12,000 $2,4
During the year, Kirk travels from Trenton to Oslo (Norway) on business. His time was spent as follows: 2 days travel (one day each way), 2 days business, and 2 days personal. His expenses for the trip were as follows (meals and lodging reflect only the business portion): Air fare $3,300 Lodging 900 Meals and entertainment