1. A newly opened bed-and-breakfast projects the following: Monthly fixed costs $6000 Variable cost per occupied room per night $20 Revenue per occupied room per night $75 If there are 12 rooms available, what percentage of rooms would have to be occupied, on average, to break even? 2. The relationship d = 5000 - 25p desc
15. Find the correct constraint 3 Let xij = gallons of component i used in gasoline j. Assume that we have two components and two types of gasoline. There are 8,000 gallons of component 1 available, and the demand gasoline types 1 and 2 are 11,000 and 14,000 gallons respectively. Write the supply constraint for component 1.
(The linear programming problem whose output follows is used to determine how many bottles of fire red nail polish (x1), bright red nail polish (x2), basil green nail polish(x3), and basic pink nail polish(x4) a beauty salon should stock. The objective function measures profit; it is assumed that every piece stocked will be sold
1. Graphical Solution A graphical representation of a linear program is shown below. The shaded area represents the feasible region, and the dashed line in the middle is the slope of the objective function. (see diagram in attached file) If this is a maximization, which extreme point is the optimal solution? a) B
The Mill Mountain Coffee Shop blends coffee on the premises for its customers. It sells three basic blends in 1-pound bags, Special Mountain Dark, and Mill Regular. It uses four different types of coffee to produce the blends - Brazilian, mocha, Columbian, and mild. The shop used the following blend recipe requirements. Blend
(See attached file for full problem description) --- Problem 5 The Southern Sporting Goods Company makes basketballs and footballs. Each product is produced from two resources- rubber and leather. The resource requirements for each product and the total resources available are as follows. Resource Requirements per Unit
2. Problem 8 A company produces, A and B, which have profits of $9 and $7, respectively. Each unit of product must be processed on two assembly lines, where the required production times are as follows. hr/Unit Product Line 1 Line 2 A
A refinery blends four petroleum components into three grades of gasoline - regular, premium and low lead.... (See attached file for full problem description)
6. Problem 18 - You will need the model for this problem from problem 17. It is provided below: (see attached) a) Solve this graphically by providing the extreme points and the corresponding z-values. Indicate the optimum solution. b) How many acres of farmland will not be cultivated at the optimal solution? Do the
1. Media selection problems usually determine a. how many times to use each media source. b. the coverage provided by each media source. c. the cost of each advertising exposure. d. the relative value of each medium. 2. A marketing research application uses the variable HD to represent the number of homeowners in
Gillian's Restaurant has an ice cream counter where it sells two main products, ice cream and frozen yogurt, each in a variety of flavors. The restaurant makes one order for ice cream and yogurt each week, and the store has enough freezer space for 115 gallons of both products. A gallon of frozen yogurt costs $0.75 and a gallo
1. Problem 18: Solve the following linear programming model using graphical techniques: Do not submit the graph. In your answer, include each of the corner points and the Z value associated with each of the corner points. Highlight the corner point that optimizes the solution. If there is no feasible solution, then i
MULTIPLE CHOICE. Choose the one alternative that best completes the statement or answers the question. 1) In linear programming, sensitivity analysis is associated with (1) objective function coefficients (2) right hand side values of constraints (3) constraint coefficients A) 1 and 2 B) 1 and 3 C) 2 and 3 D) 1, 2, an
Directions: Pretend that you have been hired as a business consultant, or you are consulting for your place of work. Given the data in both case studies, write a single consolidated report that outlines your findings. The linear programming model contains only two decision variables. Therefore, produce a graph that illustrat
Provide an appropriate response. 1) Explain the result if the simplex tableau is solved using a quotient other than the smallest non-nega five quotient. 2) Explain why a different slack variable must be used for each constraint when converting constraints to linear equations. 3) When would the simplex method be used instead
Find the possible failures in the column picture and the row picture, and match them up. Success would be 3 columns whose combinations give every vector b, which matches with 3 planes in the row picture that intersect at one point (the unique solution x). Give numerical examples of these two types of failure: a. 3 columns lie
Skillings Industrial Chemicals, Inc., operates a refinery in southwestern Ohio near the Ohio River. The company's primary product is manufactured from chemical process that requires that use of two raw materials-material A and material B. The production of 1 pound of the primary product requires the use of 1 pound of material A
An artist is painting a supply of small paintings to sell at an arts festival. He can paint three landscapes per hour and two seascapes. He can frame five paintings per hour. He has 50 hours available for painting and 25 hours for framing. How many of each type of painting should he paint and frame in order to maximize the tota
I have selected what I think is correct. Please verify correctness and explain your answer. 16. If we are solving a 0-1 integer programming problem, the constraint x1 + x2 = 1 is a ________________constraint. a. multiple choice *****b. mutually exclusive c. conditional d. corequisite e. none of the above 17. I
1. A large sporting goods store is placing an order for bicycles with its supplier. Four models can be ordered: the adult open trail, the adult cityscape, the girl's sea sprite, and the boy's trail blazer. It is assumed that every bike ordered will be sold, and their profits, respectively, are 30, 25, 22, and 20. The linear
Wal-Mart, a discount store chain, has completed its new store in Rock Springs, Maryland. The 150,000 square foot store operates seven days per week and requires the following number of full-time employees working each day of the week. Number of Employees Sunday 47 Monday 22 Tuesday
Formulate a linear goal programming model to determine the percentage points of compliance needed in each category that will best satisfy the company's goals.
The Barron Textile Mill in High Point, North Carolina was checked by inspectors enforcing the Occupational Safety and Health Act (OSHA). The inspectors found violations in four categories: hazardous materials, fire protection, hand-powered tools, and machine safety guards. In each category the mill was not in 100% compliance.
The Eastside Manufacturing Company produces four different aircraft components from fabricated sheet metal for several major aircraft companies. The manufacturing process consists of four operations - stamping, assembly, finishing, and packaging. The processing time per unit for each of the operations and total available hours
A baby products firm produces a strained baby food containing liver and milk, each of which contribute protein and iron to the baby food. Each jar of baby food must have 36 milligrams of protein and 50 milligrams of iron. The company has developed the following linear programming model to determine the number of ounces of live
PLEASE EXPLAIN YOUR ANSWERS (why did you choose T instead of F or A instead of C, etc.). C 1. Which of the following is not a component of the structure of a linear programming model? a. parameters b. decision variables c. environment of certainty d. constraints F 2. In a linear programming model, the numb
PLEASE EXPLAIN YOUR ANSWERS (why you choose A instead of C, etc.). C 6. For a resource constraint, either its slack value must be _____ or its shadow price must be ________ a. negative, negative b. negative, zero c. zero, zero d. zero, negative D 7. For a linear programming problem, assume that a given
Explain the connection between reduced costs and the range of optimality, and between dual prices and the range of feasibility.
(See attached file for full problem description) In the graph area problems looking for the steps --- 1. The maximization or minimization of a quantity is the a. goal of management science. b. decision for decision analysis. c. constraint of operations research. d. objective of linear programming. 2. Which of
A mathematical programming system named SilverScreener uses a 0-1 integer programming model to help theater managers decide which movies to show on a weekly basis in a multiple-screen theater (Interfaces, May/June 2001). Suppose that management of Valley Cinemas would like to investigate the potential of using a similar scheduli
I need help solving this problem and also I need to know exactly what the constraints are for this problem and how to figure out the constraints. --- Burnside Marketing Research conducted a study for Baker Foods on some designs for a new dry cereal. Three attributes were found to be most influential in determining which cer