A university spent $1.8 million to install solar panels atop a parking garage. These panels will have a capacity of 500 kw, have a life expectancy of 20 years and suppose the discount rate is 10%. a. If electricity can be purchased for costs of $0.10 per kwh, how many hours per year will the solar panels have to operate to m
The income statement for ABC's 2012 fiscal year is presented below. ABC manufactures one type of street lamp used on municipal roads. Sales 2,400,000 Variable cost of goods sold 1,680,000 Variable sales commissions 120,000 Contribution margin 600,000 Selling expense 105,000 Sales commissions expense 48,000 Administrativ
A firm does not face any taxes and has $250 million in assets, is currently financed entirely with equity. Equity is worth $25.00 per share, and book value of equity is equal to market value of equity. Assume that the firm's expected values for EBIT are dependent upon which state of the economy occurs this year, with the possibl
Breakeven Analysis Prepare a breakeven analysis and a C-V-P analysis planning future sales using the information below. Be sure to show your work in (Word or Excel document). Breakeven Analysis and Planning Future Sales Write Company has a maximum capacity of 200,000 units per year. Variable manufacturing costs are $1
See the attached file. 11. How much cash flow did ABC company generate in 2013? ABC 2013 Income Statement ($ in MM) Revenue 100 Cost of Goods Sold -60 Gross Profit 40 SG&A expense -15 Depreciation expense -5 Pre-Tax Profit 20 Taxes -8 Net Income 12 ABC 2013 Cash Flow Statement Information ABC Company purch
1. Assume that Lexington Hospital has fixed costs of $10 million and a variable cost (per inpatient day) rate of $200. What will the total cost be with a volume of 50,000 patient days? 2. Consider the following data: fixed costs = $10 million, variable cost per inpatient day = $400, and revenue per inpatient day = $1,200. Wh
I need help coming up with a rough outline for a 10 page paper on managing a non-profit organization. Any help would be greatly appreciative. My topic is on Fundraising. I would like to look at the problem of fundraising. Before the recession, fundraising was bringing in money, but organizations were becoming more creative i
1. Company X has a beta of .85, the risk-free rate of return is 1%, and the average return on the market is 9%. (1) Calculate the required rate of return on Company X's stock. Show how you derive the answer. (2) Does Company X's stock have greater risk, the same risk, or less risk than the average stock? Explain. 2.The 1-yea
The Taylor Corporation is using a machine that originally cost $88,000. The machine is being depreciated by the straight-line method over 8 years ($11,000 per year) and has 4 years of depreciation remaining. The machine has a book value of $66,000 and a current market value of $40,000. Jacqueline Elliott, the Chief Financial
I need some help in analyzing appropriate financial and non-financial performance measures by applying the balance scorecard models to the Royal Mail. Explain the performance in the context of the business, linking these to the business's objectives and strategy.
1) Please read the attached case and help answer the 8 questions. 2) Please help with this by providing: A report broken down into the following sections: - Summary results and recommendations—up front, concise, and to the point. - Answers to the 8 questions asked—a minimum of a page to each, with individual headi
A stock's return has the following distribution: Demand for the Company's Products Probability of This Demand Occurring Rate of Return if This Demand Occurs (%) Weak 0.1 -45% Below average 0.2 -6 Average 0.4 18 Above average 0.2 40 Strong 0.1 75 1.0 I need some help with answering the
Internal Rate of Return You have been offered the opportunity to purchase a franchise of Sunshine Juice Stores. You will have to pay $258,635 for the initial investment in the store and its equipment, plus $30,000 per year for the lease payments and the franchise fee. The franchise contract obligates you for 10 years. Ope
"Breakeven analysis isn't very useful to a company because companies need to do more than break even to survive in the long run. Explain why you agree or disagree.
Source of Revenue: Review of Financial Statements Download and review the financial statements of Ascension Health, a nonprofit, religious-based healthcare system, from http://www.ascensionhealth.org/index.php?option=com_content&view=article &id=45&Itemid=160. Download and review the financial statements of HCA, Inc.,
Reflect on the importance of the risk and return balance. Consider the following: •Can we ever have any return without some type of risk? •If you take on a large risk, are you guaranteed a large return? Why or why not? •What other factors play into risks that are not covered in the video? •When have you
You have been asked by a manager in your organization to put together a training program explaining Net Present Value (NPV) and Future Value (FV) and how they are used to evaluate the price of stock. You have been given the following objectives: Upon completing your Net Present Value (NPV) and Future Value (FV) Training Progr
Please reference the attachment. There are 20 short questions. Please only choose this posting if you this can be completed within the next 10 hours or so. Please provide the respond in an attachment only.
Why is Net Present Value (NPV) one of the most important concepts in finance? When do you think another measure would be more appropriate to use when evaluating projects? Why?
Using jetblue.com, can you help with an implementation plan to include objectives, functional tactics, action items, milestones, tasks, resource allocation, and a deadline? In addition, analyze key success factors. Include a budget and forecasted financials, including a break-even chart. Also do a risk management plan, including
Consider the following uneven cash flow stream: Year Cash Flow 0 $ 0 1 $ 250 2 $ 400 3 $ 500 4 $ 600 5 $ 600 a. What is the present (Year 0) value If the opportunity cost (discount) rate is 10 percent? b. Add an outflow (or cost) of $1,000 at Year 0. What is the present value
(Please see the attached file for the complete problem explanation) There are 8 projects and there are two questions that must be asked of all of them: 1. Assume that the projects are replicable and discount rate is 10%! Choose only one method to rank the projects. Clearly mention why you chose that method and which assumption
1. Find the annual interest rate. (Do not round intermediate calculations. Round your answers to 2 decimal places.) Present Value Future Value Time Period Annual Interest Rate $ 100 $ 122.01 4 years % 200 281.82 5 % 100 113.28 6 % 2. If you take
The attached spreadsheet has the inputs and capital budget net cash flows analysis for an investment of $1,000,000 over 10 years, with a WACC of 7.67%. 1) Calculate the Net Present Value, IRR, Profitability Index and Payback Years for this capital budget. 2)Prepare a scenario analysis with the following data: a) Base Case
Calculate the following 14 ratios: current ratio, quick ratio, inventory turnover, average collection period, average payment period (use cost of goods in place of purchases), total assets turnover, debt ratio, times interest earned ratio, gross profit margin, operating profit margin, net profit margin, return on total assets, r
Over the weekend, you get a call from your brother. He is currently working for a large restaurant chain in their management training program. "Hi, Lee," you say. "How's everything in the sandwich business?" "Good," he says. "Great, really. I'm calling because I need your financial brain." "Sure. What do you need?"
1. (Supplement A) Richard Winchester, owner of Winchester Products, is considering whether to produce a new product. He has considered the operations requirements for the product as well as the market potential. Richard estimates the fixed costs per year to be $40,000 and variable cost for each unit produced to be approximately
I submitted this previously, but forgot to attach the spreadsheet to show the format. I cannot determine the outcome for the totals. I have completed the rest of the assignment. The following information is obtained from the primary financial statements of two retail companies. One Company markets its gift merchandise in a
The following financial statement data are for Moonbeam Inc. 2015 2014 2013' Sales . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $265,000 $220,000 $180,000 Accounts receivable (net) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
The business plan is usually the first formal document a company presents to the world, and it is often crucial in establishing the image and identity of the company. One of the critical functions served by such plans is to present to potential lenders and investors the risk profile of the company -- basically, the chances that