E2-5 Ramirez Company applies manufacturing overhead to jobs on the basis of machine hours used. Overhead costs are expected to total $275,000 for the year, and machine usage is estimated at 125,000 hours. In January, $26,000 of overhead costs are incurred and 12,000 machine hours are used. For the remainder of the year, $274
BrainMass Solutions Available for Instant Download
Suppose a company's most recent free cash flow (i.e., yesterday's free cash flow) was $100 million and is expected to grow at a constant rate of 5 percent. If the company's weighted average cost of capital is 15 percent, what is the current value of operations? a. $ 913 million b. $1,000 million c. $1,050 million d. $1,5
Suppose the expected Dl is $2, the growth rate is 5 percent and Rs is 10%. Using the constant growth model what is the price? What is the impact on stock price if g is 4% or 6%? If Rs is 9 or 11% If a stock pays an annual dividend of $5 and the issue price was $50 per share. What is the expected rate of return to an investo
Respond to: Newspapers and book publishers should convert to electronic publishing over paper publishing as their primary product. I'll need to write 2-3 paragraphs on this. Thanks.
Dr. Stephanie White, the Chief Administrator of Uptown Clinic, a community mental health agency, is concerned about the dilemma of coping with reduced budgets next year and into the foreseeable future, but increasing demand for services. In order to plan for reduced budgets, she must first identify where costs can be cut or redu
Popeye's is currently unlevered with 2,000 shares outstanding and assets valued at $50,000. The company expects operating income in the current period to be $6,000. Suppose that the company can exchange 400 shares of stock for $10,000 in debt paying 10% interest. From the standpoint of EPS, how would the exchange be wise, assumi
See attached "Word" file. Please do exercise in "Excel" file. Explain each step in simpliest form. Thank you. After the tangible assets have been adjusted to current market prices, the capital accounts of Cecil Jacobs and Maria Estaban have balances of $61,000 and $59,000 respectively. Lee White is to be admitted to the p
The capital accounts of Susan Yu and Ben Hardy have balances of $100,000 and $90,000 respectively. Ken Mahl and Jeff Wood are to be admitted to the partnership. Mahl buys one-fourth of Yu's interest for $27,500 and one-firth of Hardy's interest for $20,000. Wood contributes $35,000 cash to the partnership, for which he is to rec
A company issued 10%, 8-year, $2,000,000 par value bonds that pay interest semiannually on October 1 and April 1. The bonds are dated April 1, 2002, and are issued on that date. The discount rate of interest for such bonds on April 1, 2002 is 12%. What cash proceeds did the company receive from issuance of the bonds?
E5-4 Ewing Company estimates that variable costs will be 50% of sales, and fixed costs will total $800,000. The selling price of the product is $4. Instructions a. Prepare a CVP graph, assuming maximum sales of $3,200,000. (Note: Use $400,000 increments for sales and costs and 100,000 increments for units.) b. Compute the
I have a case that I need help with in my Financial Statement Analysis course. Dealing with Liquidity of Short-Term Assets; Related Debt-Paying Ability.
Exercise 12-1 Miller Construction Company is considering selling excess machinery with a book value of $250,000 (original cost of $375,000 less accumulated depreciation of... a) Prepare a differential analysis report, dated January 3, 2006, for the lease or sell decision. Please see attached.
Case study: The "baby bust" of the 1960s and early 1970s resulted in the number of college-age 18 - and 19 year-olds contracting sharply from 1980 to 1993. The number of graduating high school seniors peaked in 1979 and declined to a low of 6.9 million in 1992, a drop of nearly 40%. Throughout the eighties, tuition at priv
Sold to wholesalers for $80 per pair. Because of availability capacity, no additional fixed charges will be incurred to produce the skis. A $100,000 fixed charge will be absorbed by the skis, however, to allocate a fair share of the company's present fixed costs to the new product. Using the estimated sales and production of
Question: What are the objectives of the gainsharing system and the report on key trends? The objectives of the Gain Sharing system is to provide extrinsic motivation, rewards that are external to the individual and unrelated to the task they are performing. In addition, the employees have an incentive to perform above par a
A portfolio is made up of 75% of stock 1 and 25% of stock 2. Stock 1 has a variance of .08 and Stock 2 has a variance of .035. The covariance between the stocks is -.001. Calculate the variance & standard deviation of this portfolio and please explain your work.
Attached is the case, please help with the question. 1. (Do not do any computations) Comment on Narnia's pricing strategy 2. Assume competitors' prices prevail in the market. What should Narnia'a strategy be?
Attached is a case study, please help solve the question below. 1. Assume Narnia sells no A, 1 million B and 2 million C. Prepare a CM segmented income statement. 2. Redo assuming 1 million of each product.
54,000 units per year at $8 per unit 360 day-per year basis $90 cost to place a single order $3 to carry on unit in inventory one year lead-time % of occurrence 6 75 7 10 8 5 9 5 10 5 Company willing to assume 15% risk of being out of stock what is the safety stock...what is the reo
FIN/554 class: 1. Brealey, Chapter 15, page 429, Challenge Question 3 Here is recent financial data on Pisa Construction. Stock Price: $40 Market value of firm: $400,000 # of Shares: 10,000 Earnings per share: $4 Book net worth: $500,000 Return on Investment: 8% Pisa has not performed spectacularly to date. However,
You observe the following information regarding Company X and Company Y: ? Company X has a higher expected mean return than Company Y. ? Company X has a lower standard deviation than Company Y. ? Company X has a higher beta than Company Y. Given this information, which of the following statements is most correct? a. Co
Canoe Company has two products. In the past, Canoe has averaged sales of four standard models at a price of $250 and one deluxe model at a price of $750 each day. Variable costs total $75 for the standard model and $200 for the deluxe model. If fixed costs are $281,250, how many canoes must be sold in order for the company to br
Please help check and correct my accounting problems: Analysis of Case Liquid Chemical Company Questions and Problems for Consideration 1. Given the two alternatives do the work inside or subcontract it to Packages Ltd? 2. What are the advantages of one alternative over the other? 3. Which action would you favor?
Samson Enterprises uses the step-down method to allocate service department costs to revenue-producing departments. The support departments, personnel and janitorial, allocate their costs based on the number of employees and departmental square footage, respectively. Relevant data are presented as follows:
Accounting Problems: 1. Paulson Company uses a predetermined overhead rate based on machine hours to apply manufacturing overhead to jobs. The company has provided the following estimated costs for next year... (questions continued in attachment)
Please see attached file for complete details: 1. Paulson Company uses a predetermined overhead rate based on machine hours to apply manufacturing overhead to jobs. The company has provided the following estimated costs for next year: Paulson estimated that 40,000 direct labor hours and 20,000 machine hours would b
Attached is the case study. Questions: What are the advantages of one alternative over the other? Which action would you favor?
See attachment for company information. Thanks. (a) State five assumptions which are made when preparing break-even charts. State one limitation of each assumption. (b) Using marginal costing, calculate the net profit if i) 7500 units are produced and sold; ii) 9000 units are produced and sold. (c) Calculate the num
Hello, Attached is a case study and I just need help in answering two questions: What are the advantages of one alternative over the other? Which action would you favor? ** See ATTACHED file(s) for complete details **
Just need some help on several questions on basic financial analysis. I have an idea about how to do it but I want to make sure I'm heading in the right direction! Questions (also attached Excel file for the data): D. Calculate the 2005 debt, times-interest earned and EBITDA coverage ratios. How does this company compare
Deb Samson is the owner of a company that produces glass products, suh as shower doors, table tops, and specialty windows for recreational vehicles. The process involves cutting glass into the proper shape, smoothing the edges, heat treating, and packaging. The cutting process is automated and very rapid; two minutes are requi