6-5) A 10% decease in the selling price of a product will have the same impact on net income as a 10% increase in the variable expenses. I need help understanding these questions. It's asking if I agree or disagree. 7-5) Variable and Absorption Costing Unit Product Costs and Income Statements. Lynch Company manufactures and
1. A firm is expected to earn $10,000, $25,000, $48,000, and $75,000 during the next four years, after which it will be dissolved. What is the present value of the firm if the discount rate is 8%? 2. Jane has compiled the following list of expenses after completing one year of college. Assume that Jane would be living with he
I need help filling in the blanks and what formulas are used to arrive at those conclusions. Year 0 1 2 3 4 Investment outlay Equipment cost ($200,000) Installation (40,000) Increase in inventory (25,000) Increase in A/P 5,000
Question 1: What is the biggest disadvantage of ABC? a. It does not provide costing information needed for GAAP purposes. b. It causes management to make frivolous decisions. c. It often causes managers to argue about the best activity measure. d. It is expensive. Question 2:
The formula for expressing the total of a fixed, variable, or mixed cost at any level of activity is: total cost = fixed cost + (variable rate *volume of activity) total cost = fixed cost *volume of activity total cost = fixed cost *variable rate total cost = fixed cost - variable cost
Lolita purchases a business for $650,000. The fair market value of the assets of the business is as follows: Equipment $ 350,000 Building 250,000 What is Lolita's co
Explain to your friend why accounting is a much broader role and the type of positions available to accountants. Use the Library and the internet as necessary to explain to her the positions and responsibilities of managerial accountants.
****You have been hired by Claire's Antiques as its new accountant. Since Claire's Antiques is a small company, you will responsible for all of its accounting functions related to financial and managerial accounting. You are explaining your new role to your friend. After explaining what you do, she expressed surprise about y
Business Financial Operations *An inventory decision rule states .when the inventory level goes down to 14 gearboxes, 100 gearboxes will be ordered. Which of the following statements is true? a. Fourteen is the reorder point, and 100 is the order quantity. b. The number 100 is a function of demand during lead time.
Compare and contrast GAAP and income tax accounting. 1. Describe how they are similar and why there are differences. 2. Also, include specific examples of how and when to apply the principles of both types of accounting.
Hello. I need help in understanding and intepreting "Indirect Cost Analysis" type questions. Can someone answer the following questions for me so I can better understand Indirect Costing methodolgy. Please place answers under the appropriate corresponding questions (i.e. a, b, c) with solution methodology. 1. A manufact
Drake Company's income statement for the most recent year appears below: (attached) 15. If the company desires a net operating income of $20,000, the number of units needed to be sold is: A) 28,500 B) 31,000 C) 31,750 D) 26,500 16. The sales manager is convinced that a $60,000 expenditure on advertising will in
Cosco, Inc. has accumulated the following data for the cost of maintenance on its machinery for the last four months: Assume that the relevant range includes all of the activity levels mentioned in this problem 4. Assuming Cosco Company uses the high-low method of analysis, if machine hours are budgeted to be 20,000 ho
Figge & Mathews PLC, a consulting firm, uses an activity-based costing in which there are three activity cost pools. The company has provided the following data concerning its costs and its activity based costing system: Costs: Wages and salaries $420,000 Travel expenses 120,000 Other expenses 180,000 Total $720,000
Jantho Painting paints the interiors and exteriors of homes and commercial buildings. The company uses an activity-based costing system for its overhead costs. The company has provided the following data concerning its activity-based costing system. Activity Cost Pool Activity Measure Annual Activity Painting overhead Square
The following monthly budgeted data are available for a wholesale company: Product L Product Z Product C Sales $400,000 $200,000 $800,000 Variable Expenses 240,000 140,000 640,000 Contribution Margin $160,000 $ 60,000 $160,000 Budgeted net operating income for the month is $130,000. Required: a. Calculate the break-even
Costs can be classified into two categories, fixed and variable costs. These costs behave differently based on the level of sales volumes. Suppose we are running a restaurant and have identified certain costs along with the number of annual units sold of 1000. Item: Raw Materials (cost for hamburgers) Total Annual Cost: 650
The VP of Operations would like to increase profitability, improve customer service, and expand the business. Even though the external accounting department spends 5 days preparing each quarter's financial statements issued to the company's shareholders. You are to attend an afternoon meeting to discuss why this is the cas
Wyalusing Chemicals uses a joint process to produce MJ-4, a chemical used in the manufacture of paints and varnishes; HD-10, a chemical used in household cleaning products; and FT-5, a by-product that is sold to fertilizer manufacturers. Joint production costs are allocated to the main products on the basis of net realizable val
What is the maximum acceptable price quotation for the slip differentials from the outside supplier?
The Hayes Company manufactures and sells several products, one of which is called a slip differential. The company normally sells 30,000 units of the slip differential each month. At this activity level, unit costs are: Direct materials $4 Direct labor 3 Variable manufacturing overhead 4 Fixed manufacturi
Video Concepts, Inc. (VCI) markets video equipment and film through a variety of retail outlets. Presently, VCI is faced with a decision as to whether it should obtain the distribution rights to an unreleased film titled Touch of Orange. If this film is distributed by VCI directly to large retailers, VCI's investment in the pr
Analysis shows that Zodiac Corporation incurred the following five-year gross margin and cost histories in serving customer number 128. Year 1 Year 2 ` Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Gross Margin $602,000 $638,000 $636,000 $652,000 $670,000 Cost of engineering changes 6,600 12,120 7,000 7,200 80,250
5-39 Rapid City Radiology, Inc. manufactures chemicals used in radiological imaging systems. The controller has established the following activity cost pools and cost drivers. Activity cost pools Budgeted overhead cost cost driver budgeted level for cost driver pool rate Machine setups $1,000,000 Number of setups
5-36 Meditech, Inc. manufactures two types of medical devices, Medform and Procel, and applies overhead on the basis of direct-labor hours. Anticipates overhead and direct labor time for the upcoming accounting period are $710,000 and 20,000 hours, respectively. Information about the company's products follows. Medform:
The following information pertains to Paramus Metal Works for the year just ended. Budgeted direct labor cost: 77,000 hours at $17 an hour Actual direct labor cost: 79,000 hours at $18 an hour Budgeted manufacturing overhead: $993,300 Actual Manufacturing Overhead: Depreciation $225,000 Property Taxes 19,000 Indir
The primary objective of budgeting is to create a detailed plan that guides managers in the acquisition and use of an organization's resources. a. True b. False The primary objective of budgeting is to create a detailed plan that guides managers in the acquisition and use of an organization's resources. a.
Here is partially completed comparative balance sheet for Snow Cones Company for the year ended December 31, 20X2. SNOW CONES COMPANY - Comparative Balance Sheets 20X2 20X2 Percentage Assets Actual Budgeted Variance Variance Cash $7,500 $7,800 (a) (3.85%) Accounts Recievable 9,200 9,000 200 2
Union Grille operates three restaurants. It reported the following data for the most recent fiscal year for Campus Café, its largest restaurant: Sales $100,000 Cost of sales 50,000 Advertising 2,000 Depreciation 5,000 Salaries 30,000 Property tax 1,000 a) What is Campus Café's contribution
1. Axel Manufacturing produces three different products in the same plant and uses a job order costing system to estimate product costs. A flexible budget is used to forecast overhead costs. Total budgeted fixed factory overhead is $450,000 and variable overhead is 120% of direct labor dollars. Projected volumes, selling pric
1. To generate needed foreign exchange, the Cuban government entered into a joint venture with Camilo Cigars of Dominican Republic. The joint venture manufactures Camilo Cigars in Cuba using Cuban tobacco and employees. Camilo and the Cuban government split all profits evenly. The contract calls for all financial transactions, i
Fenway Company sells 1,000 shares of treasury stock for $32,000. The shares had been previously acquired for $24,000. The $8,000 received over cost should be credited to: If the company declares and pays $50,000 in dividends in 2004, the amount received by the preferred stockholders would be
5. Fenway Company sells 1,000 shares of treasury stock for $32,000. The shares had been previously acquired for $24,000. The $8,000 received over cost should be credited to a. an asset account. b. a paid-in capital account. c. a revenue account. d. retained earnings. 6. The X Company has the following stock outstanding: