Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Death and Dying According to Elisabeth Kubler Ross

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    What are the five stages of grief and what happens during each stage?

    How might Dr. Ross react to the following scenarios: You're the caregiver of a terminal patient, who continually asks, "How sick and I; Am I going to die; Why doesn't anyone tell me what's wrong with me?" You approach the physician and he asks (with tears in his eyes) "What do you want me to do, tell her that she's going to die?"

    Is it appropriate to offer our interpretation of death for ourselves to terminally ill patients who ask us to share openly?

    Would you think that suicidal or clinically depressed people go through the same stages of grieving as those who have a terminal illness? What do you think Dr. Ross' response would be to this question?

    What type of influence(s) do you think Dr. Ross had on the medical community following publication of his book?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com May 20, 2020, 11:28 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    There are five stages of grief that people generally go through when experiencing death and dying. For the most part, everyone grieves differently. Some people may not go through each stage while others may go through a specific stage more than once. I believe Dr. Ross' goal in creating the 5 stage model was to show that the road to healing is not a simple one. It is a journey.

    The first stage is Denial. This is a defense mechanism where a person refuses to accept the situation (reality). The person may say to him/herself, "This isn't happening!" or "Everything's going to be ok. That doctor doesn't know what he/she is talking about".

    The second stage is Anger. Those dying may become angry with both themselves and others close to them. They become angry at the situation and become withdrawn from others. Most often, the ill become angry with the doctor who they feel failed them .

    The third stage is Bargaining. Particularly religious individuals begin to try and bargain with a higher power. For example, they may pray to God saying "If you see to it that I live at least 5 more years, I promise to stop smoking". This is an attempt to gain control of the situation.

    The fourth stage is Depression. The person is now beginning to accept reality and is becoming fearful, sad, nervous and regretful. Again the person may isolate themselves from others and may often cry. Some seek therapy while others just shut down and fall into a deep state of ...

    Solution Summary

    This solution identifies the 5 stages of grief and Dr. Ross' grief model contributed to the medical field. It also describes how the grief process can differ across various cultures and situations. In addition, it suggests how Dr. Ross would address a terminally ill individual. Almost 1000 words + reference.