Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Lifespan Behavior

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Erikson's Life Cycle - Erikson's theory of Psychosocial development

    I am trying to identify and analyze a television, movie, or literary character for each stage of the theory.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 9, 2019, 6:04 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    1. Erikson's Life Cycle - Erikson's theory of Psychosocial development

    Briefly, Erikson's theory consists of eight stages of development. Each stage is characterized by a different conflict that must be resolved by the individual. When the environment makes new demands on people, the conflicts arise. "The person is faced with a choice between two ways of coping with each crisis, an adaptive, or maladaptive way. Only when each crisis is resolved, which involves a change in the personality, does the person have sufficient strength to deal with the next stages of development"(Schultz and Schultz, 1987).
    If a person is unable to resolve a conflict at a particular stage, they will confront and struggle with it later in life. (http://web.cortland.edu/andersmd/ERIK/stageint.HTML).
    Stage (age) Psychosocial crisis Significant relations Psychosocial modalities Psychosocial virtues Maladaptations & malignancies
    I (0-1) --
    infant Trust vs mistrust Mother To get, to give in return Hope, faith Sensory distortion -- withdrawal
    II (2-3) --
    toddler Autonomy vs shame and doubt Parents To hold on, to let go Will, determination Impulsivity -- compulsion
    III (3-6) --
    preschooler Initiative vs guilt Family To go after, to play Purpose, courage Ruthlessness -- inhibition
    IV (7-12 or so) --
    school-age child Industry vs inferiority Neighborhood and school To complete, to make things together Competence Narrow virtuosity -- inertia
    V (12-18 or so) --
    adolescence Ego-identity vs role-confusion Peer groups, role models To be oneself, to share oneself Fidelity, loyalty Fanaticism -- repudiation
    VI (the 20's) --
    young adult Intimacy vs isolation Partners, friends To lose and find oneself in a
    another Love Promiscuity -- exclusivity
    VII (late 20's to 50's) -- middle adult Generativity vs ...

    Solution Summary

    Using Erikson's theory of Psychosocial development, this solution assists in identifying and analyzing a television, movie, or literary character for each stage of the theory.