Explore BrainMass

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing Phases

"Intrusive re-experiencing is a core symptom of PTSD" (Kleim, Ehring, & Elhers, 2012). A variety of therapies may be used to treat these symptoms. What is Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR)? Discuss the eight phases in detail and provide details on how you could incorporate aspects of EMDR in a classroom setting. Although you are not a therapist, what can you implement in the classroom setting to support students as they are reprocessing trauma? What support could you provide the family during this process?

Solution Preview

Phase 1: History and Treatment Planning:

Therapists first examine the history of the traumatic event to develop a competent and effective treatment plan.

Phase 2: Preparation:

This phase gives the victim an opportunity to develop techniques specific to their issue that can assist in immediately dealing with any PTSD emotional issues that emerge from the event.

Phase 3: Assessment

The clinician identifies the ...

Solution Summary

Eye movement desensitization and reprocessing phases are examined.