Purchase Solution

Childhood and Adoleescent Development

Not what you're looking for?

Ask Custom Question

Analyze dimensions of development in relation to one another within the context of child and adolescent development.

Purchase this Solution

Solution Summary

This solution describes dimensions of development in childhood and adolescence.

Solution Preview

(a) Childhood consists of infancy, early childhood, and middle or late childhood. Infancy is the period of birth to 24 months; early childhood is the period of infancy to five years; and middle or late childhood involves the period of six years to 11 years. Childhood is the period when development involves the recognition of the self-understanding and self-recognition, particularly early childhood. As Piaget noted, children learn by interacting with their environment. Piaget's cognitive development theory theories held that children go through four stages:

(1) Sensorimotor stage [describing their world],
(2) Preoperational stage [child utilizes symbols and images],
(3) Concrete operations stage [child develops logical mental operations], and
(4) Formal operations stage [thinking and reasoning is developed] (Plotnik, 1986, 382).

Reviewing Piaget's stages of cognitive development, children progress in developing maturity through the four stages mentioned earlier. In stage 1, the child learns by interacting with the environment, in Stage 2 they learn to use symbols, words, and/or mental images. Children form logical mental operations in Stage 3, including the ability to classify objects. Piaget theory ...

Purchase this Solution

Free BrainMass Quizzes
Key Psychology Theories and their Developers

Match which psychologist developed and/or contributed to which theory.

Can you name these types of cognitive distortions?

In each mini-scenario, can you identify the type of cognitive distortion being displayed? All of us are subject to cognitive errors, biases, and distortions throughout our daily lives.

Erik Erikson's Psychosocial Stages

Erik Erikson researched eight stages of psychosocial development beginning at birth and ending at death. This quiz challenges your knowledge of each stage, the corresponding age range, and the conflicts present during each stage.

Health Psychology

This quiz speaks to the general concepts, themes, and terminology associated with the field of health psychology.

Anxiety Disorders

This quiz is designed to help students gain a better understanding of various types of anxiety disorders.