Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Five categories of certifed healthcare professionals

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Describe five categories of certified healthcare professionals. Make sure to discuss their scope of practice, licensing or certification process, continuing education, professional associations, and opportunities and limitations for employment.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 2:52 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Primary care providers: These are the types of doctors people may see first for checkups and health problems. These types of doctors include:
    Medical practioners: These doctors are qualified to care for the entire family. They can be board certified and have training in a variety of medical subfields such as Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pediatrics, Internal Medicine and Psychiatry. They need a license to practice medicine in the United States. Family practioners also need to complete a rotating internship as well as four years of undergraduate work and four years of medical school. All licensed practioners who have a completed a 2 -10 year residency are allowed to practice medicine in the state that they are licensed in. These type of practioners are declining in recent years. Currently in the United States
    a medical practioner who specializes in family medicine needs to complete a residency in family medicine and must become certified. The American Academy of Family Practice is actively involved in helping physicians get certified. In recent years there has been a shortage of primary care physicials due to factors such as the low pay and the lower presitge ...

    Solution Summary

    This solution examines five categories of certified healthcare professionals.