Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Lifestages: Wisdom Stage

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Adults in the last stage of their lives often prefer to spend time doing favorite activities and socializing with those who are close to them. By this stage, most adults are retired and living a life that can become complicated by new choices such as type of living arrangements or loss of freedoms (e.g., driving). Use the information from our reading to respond to the following questions.

    Using one of the theories in our reading, explain why an older adult might choose to live in the same house that she has occupied for most of her adult life, rather than moving into a smaller apartment.
    Why do you think that some adults become bitter as they face death while others remain positive and active?
    Propose a plan for addressing some aspect of bereavement for a group therapy session (e.g., stage of grief).

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 5:39 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Dear Student,

    I hope this solution gets to you with enough time to help you out with your academic tasks. In this particular problem, the lifestages assignment is asking you to use a theory and apply it to the problem. I suggest using Erikson's partially because we have applied his theory in one of your solutions and also because I believe that his theory touches on what is of great importance in this stage. I suggest this outline:

    1. On Erikson's Late Adult Stage - 150 words
    2. Based on the theory, explain the reluctance to leave home - 150 words
    3. Bitterness & Happiness (use an example) - 150 words
    4. Bereavement Counselling for the Elderly - 150 words

    This outline should yield around 600 words which should cover what you need. Just let me know via the feedback section if you need further clarification on the topic. You can also use the listed resources to further explore this subject of study. All the best!

    AE 105878/Xenia Jones


    Erikson's Wisdom Stage

    This particular stage, the wisdom stage, is also the very last stage of Erik Erikson's 'Stages of Psychosocial Development'. In this stage, the individual is at that very last stage of psychosocial development, the very final stage of the theory. According to Erikson (1982), we go through 8 stages of psychosocial development from childhood wherein our personality is shaped and developed as we go through a series of 8 ordered and hierarchical stages. At each stage, a psychosocial crisis is present and how the individual resolves it determines the personality developed and manifested in that stage and the stage that comes next. At this very last stage, the psychosocial crisis is one between integrity or despair. The theory posits that at later adulthood from age 60 and onwards, when the individual has retired or slowed down from work, when their children have become young adults who are independent and with families of their own, the late-adult feels a sense of mortality - aging is a reality physically, psychologically and socially. The aging body cannot function as actively as it used to - the skin wrinkles, the hair greys. Around the individual, friends of the same are also susceptible to the same realities of aging while some would have already passed away. Psychologically and socially the individual understands the changed social roles (i.e. being the 'grandmother' instead of just the 'mother') and this entails a new change in family dynamics. When once the grandmother had the final say in the life or her children, her influence, for instance is waning off as her children, now independent adults call the shots in their family.

    At this stage, the individual reviews his life - did the individual live life as best as he or she could? Did he or she achieve what was once hoped? Reminiscing about the past, being introspective, trying to talk and positively guide their children and grandchildren to leave a legacy - these are some of the activities undertaken. This is the final life crisis - to ...

    Solution Summary

    The solution provides information, assistance and advise in tackling the task (see above) on the topic of lifestages, especially the stage known as 'Wisdom Stage' the very last stage of Erik Erikson's 'Stages of Psychosocial Development' to answer the questions listed in the problem. Resources are listed for further exploration of the topic.