Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Erickson's eight stages of development

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    What are key concepts of Psychosocial and humanistic theories based on Erikson's psychosocial development theory/erikson's psychosocial crisis life cycle model - the eight stages of human development)

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com March 4, 2021, 10:21 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Hi student
    I think this is what you are asking. good luck and let me know if there is anything else I can do for you

    Eight stages of psychosocial development

    1. Infancy 0-1.5 years old trust vs. mistrust hope
    The first stage occurs immediately at birth. A baby is unsure and unknowing of the world around them. They do not know familiar person versus stranger. They trust their primary care-giver, the one person they see through out each day. If that person lets them down or is inconsistent the infant develops a general sense of mistrust (Carducci, 2002). They can over-come that mistrust through support and begin to have hope.

    2. Early childhood 1.5 to 3 years old autonomy vs. shame and doubt will
    The second stage is primarily when realization occurs. A child discovers their own body and the different things it can do; walk, talk, excrete, etc. When appropriately supported and encouraged the discovery of one's own body gives a sense of pride and excitement. When stagnated or fail to support the child's abilities and skills a feeling of doubt and shame restrict any further development. A sense of will and want to healthy form.

    3. Play age 3 to ...

    Solution Summary

    Defining the eight stages; no references