Purchase Solution

Language Acquisition from a Developmental Perspective

Not what you're looking for?

Ask Custom Question

What are the three stages that demonstrate the changes that children experience in acquiring verbal language?

Purchase this Solution

Solution Summary

This solution provides a detailed discussion of the three stages of language acquisition that demonstrate the changes that children experience in acquiring verbal language. It is from a developmental perspective.

Solution Preview

Three general stages differentiate the changes in development that children go through in acquiring verbal language: a prelinguistic communication stage, a stage of lexical expansion, and a stage of grammatical expansion.

1. Prelinguistic communication stage.

In this stage, which covers the period from birth to approximately 12 months of age, language foundations are being prepared, although language as is used by adults is not present. A rudimentary system of movements and vocalizations enables the infant to communicate basic biological and social needs. Additionally, infants are able to perceive certain aspects of human communication and recognize voices. At about 8 months of age, the infant engages in more persistent communicative signaling. Gestures, facial expressions, and vocalizations begin to interact in a complex manner, eventually followed by the emergence of first words early in the second year of life.

2. Lexical expansion stage.

In this stage, which covers the period of approximately 12 to 14 ...

Purchase this Solution

Free BrainMass Quizzes
Health Psychology

This quiz speaks to the general concepts, themes, and terminology associated with the field of health psychology.

Role of Memory in Learning

This quiz addresses the role of memory in the learning process. The quiz differentiates between the different types of memory that facilitate learning.

The Psychology of Sleep

This quiz is to check your understanding of the sleep-related part of psychology.


This quiz provides a general overview of psychology basics.

Erik Erikson's Psychosocial Stages

Erik Erikson researched eight stages of psychosocial development beginning at birth and ending at death. This quiz challenges your knowledge of each stage, the corresponding age range, and the conflicts present during each stage.