Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Explanation of ICD, ICF, ICHI

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    The World Health Organization (WHO) utilizes the WHO Family of International Classifications. There are three main components of this system that include the following:

    International Classification of Diseases (ICD)
    International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health (ICF)
    International Classification of Health Interventions (ICHI)
    Using the resources available to you as well as any other resources you find, define and explain the purpose of each type of classification and give an example from each classification category.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 1:51 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    ICD- provides codes to classify diseases and a wide variety of signs, symptoms, abnormal findings, complaints, social circumstances, and external causes of injury or disease. Under this system, every health condition can be assigned to a unique category and given a code. ICD codes are used worldwide for morbidity and mortality statistics, reimbursement systems and automated decision support in medicine. This system is designed to promote international comparability in the collection, processing, classification, and presentation of these statistics. Example- ICD-9 codes 390-459: Diseases of the circulatory system, List of ICD-9 codes 460-519: Diseases of the respiratory system, List of ICD-9 codes 520-579: Diseases of the digestive system

    ICF-a classification of the health components of functioning and disability. The ICF is structured around the following broad components:
    Body functions and structure
    Activities (related to tasks and actions by an individual) and participation (involvement in a life situation)
    Additional information on severity and ...

    Solution Summary

    Explanation of ICD, ICF, ICHI