Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Characteristics of Childhood Development Stages

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Explain distinguishing characteristics of each of the five developmental periods.

    Early Childhood
    Middle Childhood
    Early Adolescence
    Late Adolescence

    300 Words -- would be great and it doesn't need references.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 9, 2019, 9:02 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview


    During infancy - from birth to age 12 months - babies experience rapid physical growth and development. Their weight usually doubles by 5 or 6 months of age and triples by their first birthday. An infant's nervous system - brain, spinal cord and nerves - also develops, allowing them better control of the head and limbs, which enables them to explore their new environment and interact with others.

    Generally, healthy babies reach certain developmental milestones by the first year. These can include, but are not limited to:

    Rolling over by themselves
    Sitting alone, without support
    Making babbling or squealing sounds
    Standing up
    Walking, while holding on to furniture or a person for support
    Saying at least one word, usually "mama" or "dada"

    Early Childhood:

    Early childhood encompasses ages 1 to 4 years. Huge changes take place during this stage, as tiny, dependent infants transform into children who can walk, talk and begin formal learning.

    By their fourth birthday, most children attain a height that is double their length at birth. They also gain muscle control, balance and eye-hand coordination, which enable them to become more physically active and independent.

    Motor skills generally achieved during early childhood development include the ability to walk, run, kick and throw a ball overhead as well as pedal a tricycle. By age 4, children can also eat, dress and undress without assistance.

    Children also experience huge developmental changes in their cognitive and language abilities during these years. At age 1, most children are able to say a few intelligible words. By their fourth birthday, most children speak clearly in sentences of four to six words, have a vocabulary of more than 1,500 words and understand the concept of counting.

    Middle Childhood:

    Middle childhood is the developmental period that occurs between the ages of 5 and 10 years. During these years, children are more independent and physically active than they were ...

    Solution Summary

    This solution discusses the distinguishing characteristics of infancy, early childhood, middle childhood, early adolescence and late adolescence.