Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Erikson's 8 stages of development

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Can you help me describe two of Erikson's eight stages of development? Also, choose one of the stages and describe what happens when this is successfully negotiated, and choose the other stage to describe what might happen if this crisis was not successfully negotiated.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 4:04 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Dear Student,
    Hi and thank you for using Brainmass. The solution below should get you started. I have taken the liberty of describing the 8 stages and further discussed 2 stages that are of interest, in my opinion, in terms of personality development. If you have any questions, just let me know via the feedback section. You can also use the listed resources to explore the topic further. Good luck with your studies.

    OTA 105878/Xenia Jones

    Erik Erikson's 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development

    Who is Erik Erikson and what is his '8 Stages'? Erikson is a German-American psychologist and psychoanalyst who developed theories of the self and of personality development. While he followed the theories of Freud but expanded the stages (Freud presented 5) into eight based on his work with the emotionally and mentally troubled young populace of the Austen Riggs Center, a psychiatric treatment facility in Stockbridge, Massachusetts. What then are these 8 stages? They are as follows:

    1. Stage of Hope - Basic Trust vs. Mistrust - Infant stage. Is the infant reliant and trusting to its caregivers?
    2. Stage of Will- Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt - Toddler stage. The child is curious and explores the world around him to learn. Parents need to maintain a balance; the child must not be smothered but at the same time must not be neglected.
    3. Stage of Purpose - Initiative vs. Guilt - Kindergarten - The child must be allowed to choose according to judgments based on what he has learned. A positive outlook in a child can be initiated if they find a sense of accomplishment in the things they can do independently (dressing up, eating), etc. Guilt is usually felt by the child due to following own initiative but this must be mediated and turned into a positive event while enforcing morals and manners by example.
    4. Stage of Competence - Industry vs. Inferiority - Around age 6 to puberty. The competitiveness in the classroom shows especially as the child tries to find his worth in comparison with other kids' abilities. Recognition of disparities in relation to skills is apparent. Teachers must ensure that inferiority complexes do not develop in their wards despite skills disparity due to ...

    Solution Summary

    The solution presents Erison's 8 stages of development and provides a deeper look at 2 of the stages to help the student answer the question set (see above) regarding the success and failure of negotiating the stages (impact). A word version of the solution is attached, resources are listed.