Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    IT standards

    Not what you're looking for? Search our solutions OR ask your own Custom question.

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Name, discuss and define three information technology standards. Provide additional references for each.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com March 4, 2021, 7:20 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Information Technology Standards:

    In order to stay sane and keep the ratio of content-to-terminology ratio fairly high, I need to take some liberties with language. In particular, I will use the word 'standard' to cover everything from ISO International Standards to IETF RFCs to W3C Recommendations.

    a) INCITS (International Committee for Information Technology Standards)
    an ANSI-accredited forum of IT developers. It was formerly knows as X3 and NCITS.
    X3/NCITS technical standard groups/technical committees have provided many important standards, among them:
    • T10 - SCSI
    • T11 (X3T9.3) - Fibre Channel
    • T13 - AT Attachment
    INCITS coordinates technical standards activity between ANSI in the USA and joint ISO/IEC committees worldwide. This provides a mechanism to create standards that will be implemented in many nations.
    The forum is established in 1961 as Accredited Standards Committee X3, Information Technology and is sponsored by Information Technology Industry Council (ITI), a trade association representing providers of information technology products and services then known as Computer and Business Equipment Association (CBEMA). It was renamed Accredited Standards Committee NCITS, National Committee for Information Technology Standards in 1996, and the current name ...

    Solution Summary

    Solution provides a discussion and definition for three information technology standards.