Purchase Solution

History of the Pentateuch

Not what you're looking for?

Ask Custom Question

Briefly explain the history and structure of the Pentateuch?

Purchase this Solution

Solution Summary

This solution briefly explains the history and structure of the Pentateuch. Reference is provided.

Solution Preview


Pentateuch is a name given to the first five books of the Bible - Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy. It is derived from two Greek words, pente, meaning five, and teuchos, meaning volumes. Pentateuch means five volumes.

The five books originally formed a single scroll, as they still do in Hebrew manuscripts. When they were divided into five sections, or books, is unknown, however it is reasonably certain that it was at, or before, the writing of the Septuagint, from which the descriptive book names, or titles, were taken by the Greek translators.

Later Scriptures refer to the Pentateuch as The Law, or The Book of the Law. It has always been at the beginning of the Bible, not only because its events occurred first, but ...

Purchase this Solution

Free BrainMass Quizzes
The Bible

How well do you know the books of the Bible? Can you keep the order straight?

Basic Bible Quiz

A bible knowledge quiz.

The Bible Part 2

Ready to keep testing your knowledge of the order of the books of the Bible? Find out how much you know with this quiz.

Old Testament Figures

Do you know the individuals in the Old Testament? Test your knowledge with this quiz.

The Disciples

How much do you know about these key followers of Jesus?