Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Freud's and Erikson's stages of development

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    According to Freud and Erikson, what happens if one becomes fixated in a particular development stage?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 1:08 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Hi there! I have attached an explanation of this question and have copied and pasted it below. Please by all means, message me if you have any additional questions or feel I may not have properly addressed your question.

    I am going to first help you understand what Freud and Erikson proposed about the stages of development. Freud believed that individuals experienced growth of personality by properly growing through psychosexual stages of development. He felt individuals passed through these stages in a natural response to sexual needs, even as a newborn! Human personality and drive to him is based on sexual need. These include first oral (birth to about 18months), then oral (about 18 months to 3.5 years), phallic (3.5-about 6 yrs), latency (about 6 yr to puberty), and genital stage (adulthood after puberty). You may want to look each stage up specifically to understand what milestones should take place. I will give you one example - the oral stage. If a baby is in that stage, they fixate on sucking bottles, nipples, etc. They love to put things in their mouth, hence "oral". At ...

    Solution Summary

    Freud and Erikson proposed about the stages of development