Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Types of Accreditation

    Not what you're looking for? Search our solutions OR ask your own Custom question.

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Will someone discuss with me the types of accreditation that a community college might seek and why?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com March 5, 2021, 12:13 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Community colleges can apply for Regional, National, and Professional Accreditation. Regional accreditation is important because it allows an institution to be recognized as having high standards by other universities. Often times, regional accreditation involves a college joining an organization of other colleges. For example, a regionally accredited community college in Georgia might be part of the University System of Georgia. This would be highly beneficial to the college because it would communicate to students that any credits earned at that community college would transfer to other colleges within the system.

    In general, colleges are regionally accredited based on location within the U.S. There are 6 main accreditation organizations that accredit institutions of higher learning. These are explained online at http://www.communitycollegereview.com/articles/19:

    Western Association of Schools and Colleges - This agency accredits education institutions in Hawaii, California, and Guam.

    Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools - This organization offers accreditation for colleges in New York, Delaware, Maryland, District of Columbia, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, the Virgin Islands, and Puerto Rico.

    North Central Association of Colleges and Schools - This accreditation agency manages Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa, ...

    Solution Summary

    The types of accreditation are discussed.