Explore BrainMass

Animal Phyla Classification

This content was STOLEN from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

I need some help classifying animal phyla, the document attachment has a table with nine images. The images are examples of nine different Animal phyla: Porifera, Cnidaria, Nematoda, Arthropoda, Platyhelminthes, Annelida, Mollusca, Echinodermata, and Chordata.

Using the Dichotomous Key determine the Class category as shown for each animal (picture), and write the Class names under the Classification Column on the table.
List in column 2, all of the dichotomous key steps chosen when using the key to arrive at the classification for each animal.

Also list the Phylum name for each animal picture in column one using the nine Phyla listed above. Once all the Class category for each animal using the Key has been identified, look up the correct Phylum category using a credible reference.

© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 25, 2018, 9:12 am ad1c9bdddf


Solution Preview

Good evening student. Thank you for choosing BrainMass. I will be glad to help you this evening, however, you must take note of 1 thing. This request appears to be an assignment completion request. It is against BrainMass policy for experts to complete a ready to hand in assignment. It would also be academic dishonesty on your part. Therefore, I am not going to give you an assignment which is ready to turn in, rather I will guide you to find the answers. I can give you a general description of all organisms in each of the phyla listed. From there you can determine which phylum each organism falls under.

Animals in this phyla are invertebrates, they lack internal organs as we know them, adults have either radial symmetry or no symmetry, there body is supported by spicules and a spongy material called spongin rather than a bony skeleton, there is no ...

Solution Summary

This solution will review the major characteristics of the 9 phyla in the animal kingdom.

See Also This Related BrainMass Solution

Animal Classifications

Animals are placed in taxonomic classifications based on differences and similarities of their traits. If you know what critical traits to look for, it is possible to separate any animal into a taxonomic category.

The common categories are Domain, Kingdom, Phylum, Class, Order, Family, Genus and Species (Specific Epithet.)

Example: Human Classification

Domain: Eukarya

Kingdom: Animalia

Phylum: Chordata

Class: Mammalia

Order: Primates

Family: Hominidae

Genus: Homo

Species: sapiens

Part 1: The assignment document contains a table with images. The images are examples of nine Animal Phylum: Porifera, Cnidaria, Nematoda, Athropoda, Platyhelminthes, Annelida, Mollusca, Echinodermata, and Chordata.
There are 9 Organisms in Nine Different Phyla.

Please see attachement for pics.
Organism Phyla Dichotomous Key (steps) Classification

Use the Dichotomous Key to determine the taxonomic category (phylum or class as shown on the key) for each animal (picture), and write these categories under the Classification Column on the table.

You will also need to list the phylum for each animal picture in column one; and list in column 2 all the steps chosen when using the key to arrive at the classification for each animal.

1. Which phyla lack organs? What type of symmetry do they have?
2. List all of the phyla that show cephalization?
3. Do all organisms on the table have 3 germ layers (endoderm, ectoderm and mesoderm)? If not, which Phyla have fewer than three germ layers?
4. One phylum has more species than all the others. State the name of this phylum and provide several different examples of species found in this phylum.
5. According to chapter 24, fish do not all have the same skeletal structure? Describe the differences among fish from the most primitive to more advanced types.
6. Describe the three types of mammals based on how their young develop?

View Full Posting Details