Explore BrainMass

Jewish Practices and Rituals

Solution Preview


Let's take a closer look at the following Jewish rituals and practices: Mitzvot, 613 Commandments, Keeping Kosher, Rabbinic Law, Synagogue and Worship & Prayer. I also attached extra information for each ritual and practice in the attached resource, which are referenced by page in the following response.

Briefly, Jewish rituals and religious observances are grounded in Jewish law (halakhah, lit. "the path one walks"). An elaborate framework of divine mitzvot, or commandments, combined with rabbinic laws and traditions, this law is central to Judaism. Halakhah governs not just religious life, but daily life, from how to dress to what to eat to how to help the poor. Observance of halakhah shows gratitude to God, provides a sense of Jewish identity and brings the sacred into everyday life.

1. The Mitzvot

The Hebrew word mitzvot means ...

Solution Summary

This solution identifies and explains Jewish practice and rituals. Supplemented with supporting information that expands on each ritual and practice.