Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Muslim Sunni and Shi'a

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    What are the five pillars of the Islamic Faith as both a religion and social community (Umma)? Why does sectarianism split Muslims between Sunni and Shi'a? Where do the Sunnis and Shi"ites predominate today?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 7:57 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    The five pillars of the Islamic Faith are the testimony of faith, prayer, giving to the needy (zakat), fasting during the month of Ramadan and the pilgrimage to Mecca if a person is able at least once in a lifetime.

    The Sunni and Shi'a have lived in peace and even ...

    Solution Summary

    This solution of 165 words provides information on Sunni and Shi'a Muslims, the five pillars and what is behind the split. References used are included.