Explore BrainMass

two types of Buddhism

This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

Need help developing the following:

Create a matrix that illustrates the rituals, traditions, and basic belief systems of at least two types of Buddhism:

Tibetan Buddhism
Zen Buddhism

© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com March 21, 2019, 7:30 pm ad1c9bdddf

Solution Preview

Let's take a closer look at rituals, traditions and basic beliefs on Zen and Tibertan Buddhism, which you can consider for your Matrix.



? Zen is Buddhism as taught in Japan. Zen Buddhism is a Mahayana teaching
? Rate of change is Fast Path (direct), mainly focus on developing wisdom of emptiness.1
? Considered anti-tradition


? Exoteric - meditate on 5 senses and the mind. 1
? Emphasis on building a proper moral basis upon which to build the insights of emptiness 1
? "To study the Buddha Way is to study the self, to study the self is to forget the self, and to forget the self is to be enlightened by the ten thousand things." 2
? Satori is Zen Buddhism's term for enlightenment, which is reached through meditation.
? Texts - The two Sutras that formed the basic texts - the Lankavatara and the Diamond 3
Practices and Rituals
? Zen has become famous in the west for it's short stories, it's koan's, it's tea ceremony and it's calm way of life.
? Enlightenment is reached by meditation. - one has to discover one's own enlightenment or one's own Buddha-mind.
? Meditation helps overcome greed, anger, fear and the difference between self and other.
? Practical level grounds a person. That grounding is in the Bodhisattva Vow, the three jewels and the 10 grave precepts. 4

? To be an actual Zen Buddhist, one has to take refuge in the Three Jewels. This means formally declaring to take refuge in Buddha (teacher and lineage), Dharma (teachings) and sangha (the community of Buddhist monks or more widely: the community of Buddhists). 4

? The Ten Grave Precepts are:

1. Affirm life; do not kill.
2. Be giving; do not steal.
3. Honor the body; do not misuse sexual energy.
4. Manifest truth; do not lie.
5. Proceed clearly; do not cloud the mind.
6. See the perfection; do not speak of others' errors and faults.
7. Realize self and other as one; do not elevate the self and blame others.
8. Give generously; do not be stingy.
9. Actualize harmony; do not give vent to anger.
10. Experience the intimacy of things; do not defile the Three Treasures. 4

? "These can be taken literally, and should be taken literally (at first). Later they should also be realized on a deeper level. ...

Solution Summary

This job expresses rituals, traditions, and basic belief systems of at least two types of Buddhism.