Explore BrainMass


This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

Show the historical development of Buddhism into a religion and illustrating the rituals, traditions, and basic belief systems of two different types of Buddhism: Tibetan and Zen Buddhism

How did Buddhism develop into a religion and along what historical path?

Where do your two assigned forms of Buddhism fall into that historical trajectory?

© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com March 21, 2019, 7:16 pm ad1c9bdddf

Solution Preview

Let's take a closer look.


1. How did Buddhism develop into a religion and along what historical path?

The historical path and how Buddhism developed into a religion include:

? Buddhism was founded in the late 6th century B.C.E. by Siddhartha Gautama (the "Buddha").
? It is still an important religion in most of the countries of Asia.
? Over time, Buddhism has taken many different forms, but in each case there has been an attempt to draw from the life experiences of the Buddha, his teachings, and the "spirit" or "essence" of his teachings (called dhamma or dharma) as models for the religious life.
? However, not until the writing of the Buaciha Charija (life of the Buddha) by Ashvaghosa in the 1st or 2nd century C.E. do we have a comprehensive account of his life.
? The Buddha was born in North India (ca. 563 B.C.E.) at a place called Lumbini near the Himalayan foothills, and he began teaching around Benares (at Sarnath). His era in general was one of spiritual, intellectual, and social ferment. This was the age when the Hindu ideal of renunciation of family and social life by holy persons seeking Truth first became widespread.
? Siddhartha Gautama was the warrior son of a king and queen. According to legend, at his birth a soothsayer predicted that he might become a renouncer (withdrawing from the temporal life). To prevent this, his father provided him with many luxuries and pleasures. But, as a young man, he once went on a series of four chariot rides where he first saw the more severe forms of human suffering: old age, illness, and death (a corpse), as well as an ascetic renouncer.

? Walking one day and seeing so many people suffering, the contrast between his life and this human suffering made him realize that all the pleasures on earth were in fact transitory, and could only mask human suffering.
? Leaving his wife and new son ("Rahula" - fetter) he took on several teachers and tried severe renunciation in the forest until the point of near-starvation.
? Finally, realizing that this too was only adding more suffering, he ate food and sat down beneath a tree to meditate.
? By morning (or some say six months later!) he had attained Nirvana (Enlightenment), which provided both the true answers to the causes of suffering and permanent release from it.
? He was now referred to the Buddha ("Enlightened or Awakened One") began to teach others these truths out of compassion for their suffering. (http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/japan/japanworkbook/religion/origins.html).

Specifically, Buddha's most important doctrines he taught included the Four Noble Truths and Eight Fold Path.

? His first Noble Truth is that life is suffering (dukkha). Life as we normally live it is full of the pleasures and pains of the body and mind; pleasures, he said, do not represent lasting happiness. They are inevitably tied in with suffering since we suffer from wanting them, wanting them to continue, and wanting pain to go so pleasure can come.
? The second Noble Truth is that suffering is caused by craving - for sense pleasures and for things to be as they are not. We refuse to accept life as it is.
? The third Noble Truth, however, states that suffering has an end, and
? The fourth offers the means to that end: the Eight-Fold Path and the Middle Way (http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/japan/japanworkbook/religion/origins.html)

If one follows this combined path he or she will attain Nirvana, an indescribable state of all-knowing lucid awareness in which there is only peace and joy. (http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/japan/japanworkbook/religion/origins.html)

The Eight-fold Path is often represented by an eight-spoked wheel (the Wheel of Dhamma) includes:

? Right Views (the Four Noble Truths),
? Right Intention,
? Right Speech,
? Right Action,
? Right Livelihood/Occupation,
? Right Endeavor,
? Right Mindfulness (total concentration in activity), and
? Right Concentration (meditation). (http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/japan/japanworkbook/religion/origins.html)

The Eight-Fold Path is permeated by the principle of the Middle Way, which characterizes the Buddha's life.

? The Middle Way involves a rejection of all extremes of thought, emotion, action, and lifestyle.
? Rather than either severe mortification of the body or a life of indulgence in sense pleasures the Buddha advocated a moderate of "balanced" wandering lifestyle and the cultivation of mental and emotional equanimity through meditation and morality.

? After the Buddha's death, his celibate wandering followers gradually settled down into monasteries that were provided by the married laity as merit-producing gifts.
? The laity was in turn taught by the monks some of the Buddha's teachings.
? They also engaged in such practices as visiting the Buddha's birthplace; and worshiping the tree under which he became enlightened (bodhi tree), Buddha-images in temples, and the relics of his body housed in various stupas or funeral mounds.
? A famous king, named Ashoka, and his son helped to spread Buddhism throughout South India and into Sri Lanka (Ceylon) (3rd century B.C.E.). (http://afe.easia.columbia.edu/japan/japanworkbook/religion/origins.html)
Many monastic schools developed among the Buddha's followers and about the first century C.E. a major split occurred within the Buddhist fold - that between the Mahayana and Hinayana branches. Of the Hinayana ("the Lesser Vehicle") branch of schools, only the Theravada school (founded 4th century B.C.E.) remains; it is currently found in Sri Lanka and all Southeast Asian countries.

? This school stresses the historical figure of Gautama Buddha, and the centrality of the monk's lifestyle and practice (meditation).
? Theravada monks hold that the Buddha taught a doctrine of anatta (no-soul) when he spoke of the impermanence of the human body/form, perception, sensations/feelings, consciousness, and volition.
? They believe, however, that ...

Solution Summary

By addressing the questions, this solution discusses aspects of Buddhism. References are provided.