Explore BrainMass

Knapp's 10 Stage Model

I need to understand interpersonal relationships: the stages and different types.

Solution Preview

Welcome warmly to BM! Please rate 5/5 for my 400 words of ideas and reference. I appreciate your business!

As you explore interpersonal relationships, I personally studied Knapp's 10 Stage Model when I was in college. It is formally called Knapp's Model of Relational Development. Knapp's model emphasizes ten critical stages that happen in two phases:
1. Initiating
2. Experimenting
3. Intensifying
4. Integrating
5. Bonding
(Escalation Model)

6. Differentiating
7. Circumscribing
8. Stagnating
9. Avoiding
10. Terminating
(Termination model)

As you assess the various stages, one article also illustrates the stages:

Welch, S. A., & Rubin, R. B. (2002). Development of Relationship Stage Measures. Communication Quarterly, 50(1), 24-40.

The article cites how Mark Knapp presented a "staircase" model of relationship ...

Solution Summary

Knapp's 10 Stage Model, as well as other concepts, are briefly integrated as well as references.