Explore BrainMass

Psychology - Grief

In order to develop a better marketing approach , you and your workgroup want to know what is the purchasing educational games for prechoolers . You believe that understanding social behavior and its influences will help you make more astute marketing decisions.

Share your opinion on the following topics:

Explain the different stages of grief. Describe the various coping skills used at the different stages .Include a discussion on the effect of time in the process of grieving .

Solution Preview

The most commonly accepted stages of grief were created by a women named Dr. Kubler-Ross. It is interesting because there seems to be many different variations of the name of the stages, which all characterize the same emotions. She explained the following:

1. Denial and Isolation.
At first, we tend to deny the loss has taken place, and may withdraw from our usual social contacts. This could be described as a feeling of numbness. This stage may last a few moments, or longer weeks.
2. Anger.
The grieving person may then be furious at the person who inflicted the hurt (even if she's dead), or at the world, for letting it happen. He may be angry with himself for letting the event take place, even if, realistically, nothing could have stopped it.
3. Bargaining.
Now the grieving person may make bargains with God, asking, "If I do this, will you take away the loss?"
4. Depression.
The person feels numb, although ...