Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Freudian vs. Eriksonian Stages of Development

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Does Freudian or Eriksonian stages of development make more sense to you? Why?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 9, 2019, 6:48 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Example 1: Erikson's Eight Stages of Psychosocial Development

    Table 1 Erikson's Eight Stages of Psychosocial Development
    Psychosocial stage Age Resolution
    Basic trust vs. mistrust Birth to1 year Infants learn to trust that their needs will be met
    mistrust develops
    Autonomy vs. shame & doubt 1 to 3 years Children learn to make choices and take control of their lives
    become uncertain and doubt that they can do things by themselves
    Initiative vs. guilt 3 to 6 years Children learn to initiate activities and acquire directions and purpose
    they feel guilty for their attempts at independence
    Industry vs. inferiority 6 to adolescence Children are curious and are eager to learn
    they feel inferior and lose interest in tasks
    Identity vs. role confusion Adolescence Adolescents begin to see themselves as unique and integrate various roles into one identity
    they become confused about what they want out of life
    Intimacy vs. isolation Young adulthood Young adults are able to commit themselves to another person
    they develop a sense of isolation and they have no one in the world but themselves
    Generativity vs. stagnation Middle adulthood Adults are willing to have and care for children and devote themselves to work
    they become self-centered and inactive
    Integrity vs. despair Old age Older people reflect on the meaning of their lives and accept death with dignity
    they feel despair for unaccomplished goals and failures

    Source: http://www.marshall.edu/jrcp/JRCP%20Intro%20GLBT/JRCP%20Erikson.htm

    Example 2: Freud's Psycho-sexual Stages of Development.

    The focal objects for the developing child's energy serves to define five main stages of psychological development:
    • oral (0-18 months)
    • anal (18 months - 3 1/2 years)
    • phallic (3 1/2 years - 6 years)
    • latency (6 years - puberty)
    • genital (puberty - adulthood)
    Each psychosexual stage has three main parts:
    1. A physical focus: where the child's energy is concentrated and their gratification obtained.
    2. A psychological theme: this is related to both the physical focus and the demands being made on the child by the outside world as he/she develops. For each stage, there can be two extremes in psychological reaction - either doing too much or not enough of what is ideal.
    3. An adult character type: in the first three stages this adult character type is ...

    Solution Summary

    By discussion and research, this solution responds to the question: Does Freudian or Eriksonian stages of development make more sense to you, and why? It compares the two theories on several dimensions. References are provided.