Explore BrainMass

OSHA - Classifications of Fire

There are five classifications of fire. What is the full definition of each.
Industrial Hygiene is not a separate topic under OSHA regulations but encompasses predicting, recognizing, assessing, controlling, and preventing environmental stressors in the workplace that affect workers.
Go to the OSHA website and read 29 CFR 1910.1000 and its subparts.
Define the following terms:
1. TWA
2. TLV
4. PEL
Visit the OC website Select Industrial Hygiene and work through the program. Write an evaluation of the program.

Solution Preview

Fire Classifications based on the type of fuel that is burning include combustible materials such as wood, paper, cloth, trash and plastics. These combustible materials are not metals. Compressed gases (general requirements) are also a fire classification as well as flammable liquids including gasoline, oil, kerosene, and solvents acetylene representing the third classification and, hydrogen, and ...

Solution Summary

The solution discusses the five classifications of fire. Environmental stressors in the workplace that affect workers are given.