Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Piaget's Four Stages of Cognitive Development

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Describe the four (4) stages of "Cognitive Development" (according to Piaget) and discuss their potential impact for individuals at each of their respective life stages.

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 10, 2019, 4:23 am ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Piaget's Four Stages of Cognitive Development:

    Jean Piaget (1896-1980) was a biologist who was drawn into studying children's intellectual development. Piaget noticed there were certain transitions or stages occurring throughout a child's development. However, there is much debate about his theories but Piaget has provided a foundation on viewing cognitive development.

    1) Sensori-motor (Birth-2 years)- the realization that things exist and begins to use the sense of touching in understanding the world around them
    2) Pre-operational (2-7 years)- represent language and objects through associating ...

    Solution Summary

    Insight into the four stages of cognitive development are examined.