The following are the monthly fixed expenses for Peyton Travel:
Office rent: $3,000.00
Depreciation of office furniture 200.00
Reservation Service Fees 380.00
Travel Agent Salaries 1,400.00
Variable expenses include the following:
Travel Agent Commission 5.0% of sales
Advertising 6.0% of sales
Supplies and Postage 1.0% of sales
Telephone and Reservation Service usage fees 3.0% of sales
Use the contribution margin ratio CVP formula to compute Peyton Travel's break-even sales in dollars. If the average sales price of a ticket is $660.00; how many tickets must be sold to reach break-even?
Use the income statement equation [revenue - (variable expense + fixed expense) = operating income] to compute the dollar sales needed to earn a target monthly operating income of $6,290.00. How many tickets is this if the average sales price of a ticket is $660.00?
Assume the average sales price decreases to $440.00 per ticket. Use the contribution margin approach to compute Peyton Travel's new break-even point in tickets sold. How does this compare to your answer in part a)?© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 1, 2020, 9:46 pm ad1c9bdddf
Please see the attached Excel spreadsheet.
Service Fees 380
Total Fixed Costs 5,610
Variable Costs @ $660 @440
Commission 5% 33 22
Advertising 6% 39.60 26.4
Supplies 1% 6.60 4.4
Service Fees 3% 19.80 13.2
Total Variable Costs 99.00 66.00