The Weaver Watch Company sells watches for $25; the fixed costs are $140,000; and variable costs are $15 per watch.
a.) What is the firm's gain or loss at sale of 8,000 watches? At 18,000 watches?
b.) What is the breakeven point? Illustrate by means of a chart.
c.) What would happen to the breakeven point if the selling price were raised to $31? What is the significance of this analysis?
d.) What would happen to the breakeven point if the selling price were raised to $31 but variale costs rose to $23 a unit?
Please see the attached files.
Discussion of basics
Break-even analysis is one of the tools of the managerial accounting, a device for determining the point at which sales will just cover total costs.
or the break even point for a product is the point where total revenue received equals total costs (TR=TC). A break even point is typically calculated in order to determine if it would be worthwhile to sell a proposed product, or to try to figure out whether an existing product can be made profitable.If a firm's costs were all variable, the problem of break-even volume would never arise. By having some variable and some fixed costs, the firm must suffer losses up to a given volume.
Useful in decision making
This figure can be used to make advantageous ...
Break-even analysis is showcased.
Managerial Accounting: Break Even Point Analysis
Please see attachment.
Cost-volume-profit analysis. Patton Company produces one type of sunglasses with the following costs and revenues for the year:
Total Revenues $6,000,000
Total Fixed Costs $2,000,000
Total Variable Costs $2,000,000
Total Quantity Produced and Sold 100,000 Units
a. What is the selling price per unit?
b. What is the variable cost per unit?
c. What is the contribution margin per unit?
d. What is the break-even point in units?
e. Assume an income-tax rate of 40 percent. Assuming a relevant range, what quantity of units is required for Patton Company to make an after-tax operating profit of $6,000,000 for the year?
Break-even and target profits; volume defined in sales dollars. The manager of Hsu's Carryout Express estimates operating costs for the year will total $230,000 for fixed costs.
a. Find the break-even point in sales dollars with a contribution margin ratio of 40 percent.
b. Find the break-even point in sales dollars with a contribution margin ratio of 20 percent.
c. Find the sales dollars required with a contribution margin ratio of 50 percent to generate a profit of $150,000.
CVP analysis with step costs. Techniques Company has one product: customized thumb drives with logos for various businesses. The sales price of $18 remains constant per unit regardless of volume, as does the variable cost of $10 per unit. The company is considering operating at one of the following three monthly levels of operations:
(production and sales) Total
Fixed Costs Increase in Fixed Costs from
Level 1 0-5,000 $ 30,000 --
Level 2 5,001-15,000 50,000 $20,000
Level 3 15,001-30,000 80,000 30,000
a. Calculate the break-even point(s) in units.
b. If the company can sell everything it makes, should it operate at level 1, level 2, or level 3? Support your answer.
MSW:4-4 Genia Enterprises, Inc. has the capacity to produce 12,000 units per year. Expected operations for the year are
Sales (10,000 units @ $20) $200,000
Variable $8 per unit
Marketing and administrative costs:
Variable $3 per unit
a. What is the expected level of operating profits?
b. Should the company accept a special order for 1,000 units at a selling price of $15 if variable marketing expenses associated with this special order would be $2 per unit? Calculate the incremental profits if the order is accepted.
c. Suppose the company received a special order for 3,000 units at a selling price of $15 with no variable marketing expenses. Calculate the impact on operating profits.