19. Sacha Lakic, is a designer of exclusive European furniture and accessories. One item he designs, Meuble de Rangement (a storage unit) sells for $1,000 per unit. Below is Mr. Lakic's contribution format income statement for last month:
Less Variable Expenses 2,800,000
Contribution Margin 1,200,000
Less Fixed Expenses 720,000
Net Income $ 480,000
Sacha has no beginning or ending inventories. A total of 4,000 units were produced and sold last month. Compute the following:
(a) Breakeven in sales dollars and units?
(b) How many units need to be sold to attain target profits of $600,000?
(c) What is the Sacha's margin of safety?
(d) What is the degree of operating leverage?© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com June 3, 2020, 8:56 pm ad1c9bdddf
a) Breakeven in sales dollars and units?
BEP = Fixed Cost / contribution margin per unit
contribution margin = 1,200,000 / 4000 = $300 per ...