Detroit Disk, Inc. is a retailer for digital video disks. The projected net income for the current year is
$600,000 based on a sales volume of 400,000 video disks. Detroit Disk has been selling the disks for
$24 each. The variable costs consist of the $15 unit purchase price of the disks and a handling cost of
$3 per disk. Detroit Disk's annual fixed costs are $1,800,000.
Management is planning for the coming year, when it expects that the unit purchase price of the
video disks will increase 30 percent. (Ignore income taxes.)
1. Calculate Detroit Disk's break-even point for the current year in number of video disks.
2. What will be the company's net income for the current year if there is a 10 percent increase in
projected unit sales volume?
3. What volume of sales (in dollars) must Detroit Disk achieve in the coming year to maintain the
same net income as projected for the current year if the unit selling price remains at $24, but the
unit purchase price of the disks increases by 30 percent as expected?
4. In order to cover a 30 percent increase in the disk's purchase price for the coming year and still
maintain the current contribution-margin ratio, what selling price per disk must Detroit Disk establish
for the coming year?
Solution 1 - Breakeven point = 1800000/(24-15-3) = 300,000
Solution 2 - Remember fixed cost is already collected. 10% volume increase means 40,000 (10% of 400000). Increase in Net Income = 40000*6 = 240,000. Contribtuion ...
The solution provides CVP analysis for Detroit Disk, Inc.