Explore BrainMass

Explore BrainMass

    Member EU States that have adopted the Euro

    Not what you're looking for? Search our solutions OR ask your own Custom question.

    This content was COPIED from BrainMass.com - View the original, and get the already-completed solution here!

    Denmark is a European country that opted not the Euro currency. Talk about the main reason the EU member voted no. Find other countries that are also EU member but have not chosen to the Euro currency - list a few and discuss the main forces driving this decision. Who has adopted the EMU (European Monetary Unit-Euro) and who has not?

    © BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com December 24, 2021, 11:27 pm ad1c9bdddf

    Solution Preview

    Denmark uses the 'krone' as its standard currency. After having negotiated an opt-out from participation under the Edinburgh Agreement in 1992, in 2000, the government held a referendum on introducing the Euro, which was defeated with 46.8% voting yes and 53.2% voting no (Business.dk). The Euro can be used in some locations in Denmark, usually in places catering to tourists, such as museums, airports and shops with large numbers of international visitors.

    Anti-Euro proponents opposed integrating into the Euro currency because they primarily wanted to ensure Danish economic supremacy (Business.dk). The Euro is not the currency of all ...

    Solution Summary

    This response involves the understanding of European states and their adoption of the Euro currency, to include member states that have not adopted the currency.