Text book publishers evaluate market size, degree competition, expected revenues, and costs for all prospective titles. With these data in mind, they estimate the probability that a given book will reach or exceed the breakeven point. If the publisher estimates that a book will not exceed the breakeven point based upon standard assumptions, they may consider cutting production costs by reducing the number of illustrations, doing only light copy editing, using a lower grade of paper, or negotiating with the author to reduce the royalty rate. To illustrate the process, consider the following data:
Cost Category Dollar Amount
Copyediting and other editorial costs 15,750
Total Fixed Costs 100,000
Printing, binding and paper 22.50
Bookstore discounts 25.00
Sales staff commissions 8.25
Author royalties 10.00
General and administrative costs 26.25
Total Variable Costs per copy 92.00
List Price per copy 100.00
Fixed costs of $100,000 can be estimated quite accurately. Variable costs are linear and set by contract. List Prices are variable, but competition keeps prices within a narrow range. Variable costs for the proposed book are $92 a copy, and the expected wholesale price is $100. This means that each copy sold provides the publisher with an $8 profit contribution.
A. Estiamte the volume necessary to reach a breakeven level of output.
B. How many textbooks would have to be sold to generate a profit contribution of $20,000?
C. Calculate the economic profit contribution or loss resulting fromt he acceptance of a book club offer to buy 3,000 copies directly from the publisher at a price of $77 per copy. Should the offer be accepted?
A. Estimate the volume necessary to reach a breakeven level of output.
The breakeven point is found by dividing the fixed costs by the profit generated by each textbook sold. Thus we find 100,000/8 = 12,500 textbooks are needed for the publisher to breakeven.
B. How many textbooks would have to be sold to generate a ...
Calculation of the breakeven volume for a publishing company.
Determine East' breakeven volume for their sales of books.
Determine the company's breakeven volume for this book
i) in units
ii) in dollar sales
Develop a breakeven chart for the text
Determine the number of copies EAST must sell in order to earn an operating profit of $21,000 on this text
Determine the total operating profits at the following sales levels:
i) 3,000 units
ii) 5,000 units
iii) 10,000 units
Suppose East feels that $30,000 is too high a price to charge for the new finance text
It has examined the competitive market and determined that $24.00 would be a better selling price What would the breakeven volume be at $24.00 a book?
See attached file for full problem description.View Full Posting Details