JetSet Machinations, Inc; expects to become very successful in the manufacture and sales of its fuel-efficient high speed airplane, the S2S-900. This plane will be sold at about $70 million per plane.
JMI executive staff has asked you to provide them a slide presentation in the next staff meeting which gives calculations for profit and break-even. This presentation will be the basis of the meeting discussion.
Assume that JMI's annual fixed costs for the S2S-900 are $950 million, and its variable cost per airplane is $45 million.
1. Compute JMI's break-even point for the number of S2S-900 airplanes and dollars of sales.
2. Suppose JMI plans to sell forty-two S2S-900 airplanes in 2002. Compute JMI's projected operating profit.
3. Suppose JMI increased its fixed costs by $84 million and reduced variable costs per airplane by $2 million. Compute its operating profit if forty-two S2S-900 airplanes are sold. Compute the break-even point. Comment on your results.
4. Next, ignore requirement 3. Suppose fixed costs do not change, but variable costs increase by 10% before deliveries of S2S-900 airplanes begin for the year. Compute the new break-even point.© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 16, 2018, 6:09 pm ad1c9bdddf
This posting computes break-even point.
Cost Volume Profit Analysis
PLEASE SEE ATTACHMENT!
The Annie Smith Dance Center
The Director of Annie Smith Dance Center is asking for assistance with the financial aspects of running a professional group of performers. She wants financial information presented in an easy to read format and a better understand of the profitability of the concerts and the organization as a whole.
The Annie Smith professional group features four dance concerts each year. Three of the dance concerts showcase a different genre. The fourth performance is a Christmas Spectacular, which is the most popular dance concert and is therefore scheduled every year. Ms. Smith has tentatively scheduled the following four dance concerts for the coming season. The schedule below shows the type and number of performances and direct cost per type of concert. Examples of direct fixed costs are costumes, rehearsals, royalties, guest artist fees, choreography, and salaries of production staff, music, and wardrobe for each of the four concerts.
Descriptions Number of Performances Cost per Dance Concert (direct fixed costs)
Hip Hop Concert 10 $45,000
Jazz and Tap Dance 5 88,000
Modern Dance 10 95,000
Christmas Spectacular 20 25,000
Variable costs associated with each performance are shown below.
Rental of auditorium 2,500
Dancers' compensation 7,000
General administrative and operating costs for the dance center are:
Administrative staff $185,000
General office expenses 90,000
Lower Orchestra Section (A) Upper Orchestra Section (B)
Descriptions No. of Seats Ticket Price Tickets Sold per Performance No. of Seats Ticket Price Tickets Sold per Performance
Hip Hop Performance 150 $85 100% 450 $50 90%
Jazz and Tap Dance 150 $85 100% 450 $50 60%
Modern Dance 150 $85 100% 450 $50 95%
Christmas Spectacular 150 $125 100% 450 $50 100%
Computations (use Excel)
Summarize key financial information in a table as shown below.
Name of Dance Concert Revenues/Performance Variable Costs/Performance Contribution Margin/Performance Total Contribution/Type of Dance Concert Direct Fixed Costs Segment Margin/Type of Concert
-Prepare a segmented income statement in good format.
-Compute the number of performances required to break even for each concert. These are separate computations for each dance concert.
-Compute break even for the organization as a whole and express the result in revenues instead of the number of performances.
-Ms. Smith wants to performance group to show at least $150,000 in operating profit. What level of revenues does the performance group need to achieve to meet this goal?
-Give a recommendation about changes Ms. Smith can make to achieve the target profit. Support your idea with computations.
Memo (use Word)
Write a four or five paragraph memo to the owner of the dance center to assist her in interpreting the financial analysis. Start with an introduction and end with a recommendation. Each of the four or five paragraphs should have a heading.
Each submission should include two files: (1) An Excel file; and (2) A Word document. The Word document shows the memo. Assume a knowledgeable business audience and use required format and length. Individuals in business are busy and want information presented in an organized and concise manner.