Sales ( 30,000 caps @ $50)- 1,500,000
Less vairable expenses- 900000
contribution margin- 600000
less fixed expenses- 280000
net income- 320000
Find the contribution margin and the break even point in both units and dollars.© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com October 24, 2018, 8:36 pm ad1c9bdddf
Contribution margin = Sales - Less variable expenses = 1,500,000 - 900,000 ...
This job finds the contribution margin and the break even point in both units and dollars.
Contribution margin, break even point, margin safety ratio, fixed costs
Tyson Company bottles and distributes LO-KAL, a fruit drink. The beverage is sold for 50 cents per 16-ounce bottle to retailers, who charge customers 70 cents per bottle.
Management estimates the following revenues and costs.
Net sales $2,500,000 Selling expenses-variable $ 90,000
Direct materials 360,000 Selling expenses-fixed 200,000
Direct labor 650,000 Administrative expenses-
Manufacturing overhead- variable 30,000
variable 370,000 Administrative expenses-
Manufacturing overhead- fixed 140,000
(a) Compute (1) the contribution margin and (2) the fixed costs.
(b) Compute the break-even point in (1) units and (2) dollars.
(c) Compute the contribution margin ratio and the margin of safety ratio.
(d) Determine the sales dollars required to earn net income of $240,000.View Full Posting Details