Bolus Computer Parts Inc. is in the process of setting a selling price on a new component it has just designed and developed. The following cost estimates for this new component have been provided by the accounting department for a budgeted volume of 50,000 units.
Per Unit Total
Direct materials $50
Direct labor $25
Variable manufacturing overhead $20
Fixed manufacturing overhead $600,000
Variable selling and administrative expenses $18
Fixed selling and administrative expenses $400,000
Bolus Computer Parts management requests that the total cost per unit be used in cost-plus pricing its products. On this particular product, management also directs that the target price be set to provide a 25% return on investment (ROI) on invested assets of $1,200,000.
Use cost-plus pricing to determine various amounts.
(Round all calculations to two decimal places.)
(a) Compute the markup percentage and target selling price that will allow Bolus Computer Parts to earn its desired ROI of 25% on this new component.
(b) Assuming that the volume is 40,000 units, compute the markup percentage and target selling price that will allow Bolus Computer Parts to earn its desired ROI of 25% on this new component.© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com August 15, 2018, 9:17 am ad1c9bdddf
(a) The ROI amount is 1,200,000 X 25% = 300,000
On a per unit basis, profit needed = 300,000/50,000 units = $6
Total variable cost per unit = 50=25+20+18 = ...
The solution explains how to calculate the markup percentage and target selling price