B&B company reports the following items:
Direct materials per unit . . . . . . . . $ 2.25
Direct labor per unit . . . . . . . . . . 3.95
Variable overhead per unit . . . . 1.80
Monthly rent . . . . . . . 2,200.00
Monthly depreciation . . . . . 680.00
Other monthly fixed costs. . . . . . . . 2,400.00
Sales price per unit . . . . . . 14.00
Using the above information, compute the company's monthly break-even point (in units).
Break-Even Point and Target Income
Steven Newman, Inc., estimates 2009 costs to be as follows:
Direct materials . . . . . . $5 per unit
Direct labor. . . . . . $8 per unit
Variable manufacturing overhead . . . $3 per unit
Variable selling and administrative expenses . . . . . . . . $2 per unit
Fixed expenses. . . . . . . $80,000
1. Assuming that Newman will sell 55,000 units, what sales price per unit will be needed
to achieve a $75,000 profit?
2. Assuming that Newman decides to sell its product for $23 per unit, determine the
break-even sales volume in dollars and units.
3. Assuming that Newman decides to sell its product for $23 per unit, determine the
number of units it must sell to generate a $100,000 profit
First, you must figure the cost of goods sold (COGS) to determine the amount of profit each unit when generate when sold:
Direct Material= $2.25 per unit
Direct Labor= $3.95 per unit
Variable Overhead=$1.80 per unit
Total cost = $8.00 per unit
Now, you must figure the profit generated for each unit sold:
Gross Profit (or contribution margin) =$14.00-$8.00=$6.00 per unit sold
Now, you must total all fixed expenses:
Other monthly fixed costs=$2,400
Total Fixed costs= $4,600
(I know a monthly depreciation figure is given, but it is only ...
Break even analysis and target income for B&B Company and Steven Newman, Inc.