Andre has asked you to evaluate his business, Andre's Hair Stylling. Andre has five barbers working for him. (Andre is not one of them.) Each barber is paid $9.90 per hour and works a 40-hour week and a 50-week year, regardless of the number of haircuts. Rent and other fixed expenses are $1,750 per month. Assume that the only service performed is the giving of haircuts, the unit price of which is $12. Andre has asked you to find the following information.
1) Find the contribution margin per haircut. Assume that the barbers' compensation is a fixed cost.
2) Determine the annual break-even point, in number of haircuts.
3) What will be the operating income if 20,000 haircuts are performed?
4) Suppose Andre revises the compensation method. The barbers will receive $4 per hour plus $6 for each haircut. What is the new contribution margin per haircut? What is the annual break-even point (in number of haircuts)?
Please list references. Place answers with questions.© BrainMass Inc. brainmass.com June 3, 2020, 5:18 pm ad1c9bdddf
<br>Contribution Margin per hair cut = Revenue - Variable cost.
<br>= 12 - 0 = $12 ( since barbers compensation is ...